The Barrel Train Express

I saw this train at the local Kansas city Farmer’s Market in the Downtown. It was a very simple and innovative idea. A John Deere farm equipment (lawn mover/tractor that is, Please correct me if I am wrong as I am not familiar with these) is converted into the train’s engine and connected to a long steel rail with wheels.

On top of this is the compartments of half cut barrel. Kids were enjoying the train ride. Innovation is what this is called and our innovation obsessed IT HR and Managers should make a note of this. I will let the picture do the rest of the talking:

Tagged: , ,

14 thoughts on “The Barrel Train Express

  1. lakshmi July 12, 2008 at 1:43 am Reply

    Thats truly interesting..I do wish such innovations are carried out here in every aspect..Thanks for sharing and dropping in at backpakker

  2. Dinesh Babu July 12, 2008 at 6:49 am Reply

    Hi Lakshmi, Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes the world needs a lot more useful innovations in all aspects. I liked your post of “Chennai Day” by the way.

  3. Barrel Train Express 2.0 « 18,000 RPM August 16, 2008 at 5:01 pm Reply

    […] Train Express 2.0 Jump to Comments Remember the Barrel Train Express post I made a while back. Well, the train has been neatly developed into a Version 2.0. The new […]

  4. Thomas Moore December 3, 2008 at 9:26 pm Reply

    i was wondering if anyone had like some blue prints of some sort I was wanting to build some to used in parades and advertise my business. Thanks Thomas Moore e-mail Athtrainer16@aol.com

  5. Dinesh Babu December 5, 2008 at 11:59 am Reply

    Thomas
    Thomas doesn’t know to build a train? Kidding … I do not have any blueprint of barrel train, if I get it I will post it here.

  6. John May 10, 2009 at 8:52 pm Reply

    What did you use for the frame and axles? Where did you get the them? I’ve got access to plastic barrels, but have had no luck finding premade frame and axles to build a train for our corn maze.

    • David Rice August 7, 2009 at 12:48 pm Reply

      Do not know where you can get pre- made frame, But we built a 8 car train in about 4 days. We used 1 in. sq. tubing, 1 in flat steel, cold rolled steel rod for the axles, tires came from the local farm supply store, or you can order them on line from Harbor Frieght. You will need a welder or access to one to build this. I know we used over kill on ours but we have had people in ours as big as 300 lbs. The kid comes out in all of us.

  7. Karen Fallowfield June 14, 2009 at 11:20 am Reply

    We have the barrels an a good idea how to make them, but heard that there are actually kits to do this with. Does anyone know of a source?

  8. Don March 20, 2011 at 10:32 pm Reply

    I’m building these barrel train cars, and I use, hand trucks, for the frame, axles, wheels and tires. Just mount the barrel to the hand truck, with 1 inch, conduit clamps. You can by the clamps at any Home Deopt, Lowes, or your local, building supply. I used, Grade School Resin chair seats, and mounted a plastic steering wheel. Fun cute cars, you can pull with a garden tractor.

  9. Eddy Guerra August 12, 2011 at 5:51 pm Reply

    Don, how did you do the hitch set up?

  10. ziggy October 6, 2011 at 9:47 pm Reply

    you use hand trucks linked together whith welded rings and hooks

  11. joe_tilton@hotmail.com January 19, 2012 at 12:31 pm Reply

    I have a design you might be interested in. See: Facebook/Barrel Trains Oklahoma. I use 4-wheels and a wide stance.

  12. Guneet Dave August 18, 2012 at 11:36 pm Reply

    I Love Your Site. Virtually every post makes me crack up,
    think, and learn something.

  13. Bob Galliford December 31, 2012 at 6:10 am Reply

    I am interested in purchasing a barrel train. I do not need the tractor just the barrels. They would have to meet the Pennsylvania Ride Safety Requirements.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

