Posted in Travel

Mini Travelogue: Niagara Falls

I took some time off from work and had been away for a little while. It is good to be away from time to time , look at great things beyond where you live and come back with a rejuvenated soul. I will be writing a series of Mini Travelogues whenever I can, about the places I visit. I will keep it Mini, because I do not want to bore you with details.

The Niagara River flows fast on the plains and falls off the cliff to form a brilliant white Misty water fall. This is the Niagara Falls, that is all and there is nothing else. But the sheer size and volume of the water fall makes it a unique one of its kind. It falls in two places and they name it the American falls and the Canadian Falls for obvious reasons. The falls and the river separates Canada and USA. Take a Peek:

There were 2 enjoyable fun rides that we took.

Cave of the Winds, where you go down about 200 Feet in an elevator and climb up a spiral of stairs close to the American Falls. You get to experience Coutralam here. The ride is to just stand at the top point and let the falls do the work on you. Of course you get to wear ponchos if you don’t want to get wet as much. An ulitmate experience.

Maid of the Mist, where you ride a boat and go close to the falls. Only thing you can see is white mist, if you can see. There will be water all over you and you will have to manage to squeeze through to see the mist. A Wonderful experience.

When you visit Niagara Falls in USA, you will be left to wonder if you have traveled to India. The only tourists I saw there, were Indians. It was like the entire country was there, except may be Rajinikanth and Bal Thackeray. If there were no Indians visiting Niagara Falls in USA, the place wouldn’t have any funds to support itself. It looks like all the native tourists just drive down to Canada to watch Niagara from there. It is said that Niagara is much more beautiful from Canada.

Perhaps it is a mark that a touring Indian wants to make, He wants to say that he has spent his time in America, by visiting a very popular place in the country. He cannot go back home and claim he has seen Yosemite or Colorado springs without being given empty stares, not many people know about those places. But if you say you saw Niagara, then they can definitely relate it to something back home. Your purpose of the trip will be complete, You saw the most popular place (popular to Indians) in USA. I will leave you with one more shot:

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

5 thoughts on “Mini Travelogue: Niagara Falls

  1. Before I had seen Niagara, I was also quite excited…

    We went to the Canada side. As we were getting closer, the sound of the falls was getting louder and my heart was racing – I was going to see this place that I had read about so much.

    But when I actually saw it, I was extremely disappointed. It was evening and they just decided to start the multi-color strobelights on the falls. It was looking like rosemilk and turmeric milk that they used to show in the ’80s tamil movies…

    Anyway, its sad that the place is so commercialized.

    Apparently, they only let 10% to 40% of the real water to fall from falls… the rest is channeled for Hydel power generation. At night, the volume of water is brought down to 10% – as no might be watching it 😦

  2. Hey Good info Navanee, Thanks. I saw that they were using it for Hydel power, but didnt know they used so much. Yeah like most other places in US, it is also very much commercialized.

  3. Interesting post!
    The Niagara Falls is looking amazing in these pix.
    I have also same opinion that the sheer size and volume of the water fall makes it a unique one of its kind.
    I and Alan had been there in the year of 2008; we really enjoyed the view of waterfall.
    We took help of southalltravel.co.uk to book our holiday package of USA.

  4. Pretty portion of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I get actually loved account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment or even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

