Posted in General

Full Moon Haiku

What a sight,

Beautiful and Bright,

Full Moon Night!

I took this picture last week during the Full moon night and I thought I could try my head and hand on haiku. This is my first and I am not sure if I insulted Haiku enough.

I don’t think I am a poetry material and especially not with Haikuing, what with all that embedding of tons of wisdom in 3 lines. But I am going to keep trying until you scream stoppppppp! So why don’t you take another closer look of the moon to help attempting to forget my poem or perhaps numb the pain.

Haiku is a short 3 line poetry which can convey profound meaning in just a few words similar to Thirukkural or Doha. The 3 lines will have 3-5-3 syllables in them when you pronounce. I love this form of the poetry for its simplicity and depth.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

9 thoughts on “Full Moon Haiku

  1. Aparna – Welcome to my blog. I used my simple Point and Shoot Nikon 4800 (4 Mega pixels), took the picture in my apartment complex here in Kansas. Yes I have seen the moon rise, it is simply brilliant. But I could take the picture only when it was dark enough to get a good image of the moon.

    Vishesh – Thank you πŸ™‚ Haiku is all about simplicity, saying 1 deep thought in 3 lines and leaving out the rest of implicit facts.

  2. dbarber59
    Very nice photo!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    I’ve found it’s hard to capture a great moon shot.
    Me too and I still think this photo could have been better with a better camera.

    Also, great haiku.
    Thank you, but this was my first Haiku and it is completely non-compliant πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

