Posted in Music

Color of Wisdom

I love listening to music. Tamil, Hindi, English, Language of the Dolphins anything that sounds good I hear it. I had made a few attempts at learning music. At one time, as a Bored Bachelor in Bangalore (wow, that seems like a nice title of a post!) I attempted learning Guitar. I made through bruises in my fingers and was imagining myself as Slash or Roger Waters while I was not even good at going quickly from a A-Major Chord to C-Major. The Tutor told me that I am useless when it comes to music and I should get married and this was why.

Tutor: What’s this?

Me: Guitar pick.

Tutor: Why is it thick?

Me: The last one I had was thin so it broke easily, that’s why I bought a thicker one.

Tutor: Only Bass Guitarists have the thick ones. You are trying to play an Acoustic.

Me: Really, Sorry I didn’t know that. Who is this Bass Guitarist?

Tutor: A Bass Guitarist is one who … sigh … never mind. For now let’s say you are not the Bass Guitarist, just use this thin pick.

Hence, I stopped learning music and got married. Well, It doesn’t sound exactly like that but me being useless in music learning and the “Thick Pick” incident part is 100% true. Everything else is masala mix.

I made a second attempt with a M-Audio Keystation Keyboard connected to my Mac and tried to learn rolling my fingers on the keyboard with the aid of a Mac software called Garage Band. This time I wanted to learn music the right way by trying to understand the Musical Staff notations. Only, Whenever I saw the staff notation, all I could remember was spaghetti. But Hey, I learnt to play the Happy Birthday song somehow, that is a progress right? Time went on and I didn’t go back to the music lessons and have kept the Keyboard aside hoping my daughter would pick it up and learn to play someday or may be we will learn it together. Otherwise I have to use it as a Surf board.

My learning of music remained ephemeral. Finally, I learnt to play 2 more songs. Row, Row, Row your boat and Twinkle Twinkle on my daughter’s … ahem … Xylophone. This is the relationship between me, music and learning. You can see how dull that is.

But with Garage Band, it is very easy to compose music. Even people like me who have little to no knowledge of music can easily put together the loops of music available in the software and come up with scores that sound good.

Now, Coming to the post ( This is probably one of those post that has 90% introduction blah! and then 10% actual content) I made a Haiku called Color of Wisdom. What color will wisdom be? (no not the Wisdom tooth!).

I found there,

Color of Wisdom,

A Grey Hair!

Sucks right? (Both Haiku and the Grey Hair). So I sat down and used Garage band to come up with a small theme music for this feeling.

I wanted to relate the strings to the (Grey) hair so I used Classic Rock Guitar loops.

You are free to download this music and use it for your personal purpose (Are you sure you want this?). Also, this means that I have a podcast. If you put my feedburner link in iTunes or any other podcast playing software, it should download the music automatically whenever I post a new Music or Video post (I think!).

Have a wonderful weekend! and Have a fantastic long Labour day weekend for those in US.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

11 thoughts on “Color of Wisdom

  1. How much I wanted to learn to play Guitar. 😦 Guess there are some wishes which never get fulfilled.
    And there US guys have so many long weekends, I envy them. πŸ‘Ώ

  2. How much I wanted to learn to play Guitar. 😦 Guess there are some wishes which never get fulfilled.
    And these US guys have so many long weekends, I envy them. πŸ‘Ώ

  3. I once tried my hand at learning the instrument that I like the most – Veena. After a rather long time, one little girl came in the same timing as mine, and played the instrument with such a grace and ease….. That day, I decided that I better not take up challenges which are doable by little girls!! (Is it age?)

    Destination Infinity

  4. This sounds good! πŸ™‚
    I’ve resisted my urge to learn guitar, as i surely know i’ll not do justice to it.

    “Hence, I stopped learning music and got married.” sounds like a wrong reason to get married. hope your wife doesn’t read this πŸ˜€
    Just kidding πŸ˜‰

  5. Hey folks, Thanks for all your comments. I was out on a road trip for the weekend and had good fun. I was reading your comments and some of your posts on the road from my phone, whenever I could.

    My Replies to Comments:

    Reema – he he πŸ™‚

    Amit – Welcome here. Some wishes do get fulfilled and we have to be happy about those. As for long weekends we have as many holidays as in India itself.

    Destination Infinity – When I was learning guitar, I saw an 8 year old playing Hotel California like a pro. I fainted that day!

    Sandeep – You do now know if you make justice to it until you try your hand at it. That’s why I tried and someday I think I will go back to it.
    β€œHence, I stopped learning music and got married.” – Was kidding of course. I got married because I got a girl who was way out of my league. Before she could find that out I married her πŸ™‚

    Vishesh – Thanks, I am as old as someone who was born in the late 70’s, married and having a kid and 30 years old.

    Nikhil – Thank you. There is a scientific reasoning behind being able to see the color of music or color of one’s voice. I guess you might have attained that super power when you drink πŸ™‚

    Arvind – Thanks πŸ™‚ Guitar learning can always be tried. You will feel worse for not trying rather than trying and realizing you cannot do good at it.

Leave a Reply

