Posted in Technology

Quick Look: Google Chrome

Google Chrome is the new browser out of Google Inc. The beta version of the browser is available for download here. Here are some quick points after some brief usage of the browser (It is not a technical review):

1. Chrome is a beautiful color for a car and a fantastic super cool name for a browser. I like the name and I like the simplistic blue bordered window.

2.Β It is quick, seriously. I didn’t do any sort of bench mark testing but by the look of it I feel Chrome can be a serious competitor to Safari when it comes to page rendering. We can probably wait for Arstechnica or a Engadget review for this to know the exact detail. The reason for this quick rendering is it runs on Webkit, the same base as Safari.

3. Google Chrome is here because of Android, Google’s Cellphone OS just the way Safari is released for Windows due to iPhone. Chrome is released so that Webmasters can work on making their site work well with the new browser, before the Android phones are out.

4. Google wins in simplicity. The first time I saw google homepage with nothing but a search box and a couple of buttons, it stood out in stark contrast with a cluttered Yahoo homepage. I loved it and ever since I had been a Google user. Chrome looks simple, in fact so simple that there is no File menu on top, just like Google Chat. The minimalist design gives you two drop down buttons – Settings and Bookmarks. What else do you need really?

5. You can type on the address bar itself and search in Google (or any other search engine that you set up).

6. Whenever you open up a new Tab, it shows a list of pages that you most visited and a list of bookmarks on the right side. This comes in very handy as you can quickly select the page you want to go to. The response for the click on this page is a little slow sometimes. It could be because of the Beta version.

7. As a long time Firefox user, I couldn’t give up Firefox for Safari on Windows due to the extensions that Firefox supports. Chrome doesn’t have extensions either, So I will mostly be using Chrome to play around for now. I have to play neutral and wait and watch until I can decide if I can permanently switch to Chrome on Windows. For Mac, I am not giving up Safari.

8. Bookmarks are strategically placed on the bookmarks bar itself. So you don’t have to go around to a menu and choose other bookmarks not on the bookmark bar.

9. Settings is cool. It only offers 3 categories – Basics, Minor Tweaks, Under the hood. Typical google, usage of layman terms.

Overall, from a usage of about an hour or so, I like Chrome and I will be using it as my second browser. I will be waiting for Chrome for Mac and will also be looking out for a good detailed review of the browser by the technical folks. Let’s see how it fares.

P.S: It has to be a coincidence that Google released Chrome right on the eve of Ganesh Chaturthi, a Hindu festival. Happy Ganesh Chaturthi!

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

20 thoughts on “Quick Look: Google Chrome

  1. It is vey fast…downloaded it few mins back!
    Thanks for the blog post….very few people are aware about the browser I think!!anyways Google is the coolest thing to have happened to e world..

  2. David – Your post was very funny πŸ™‚

    Mediaboy – Yes, it is indeed faster than firefox, but since it is Beta, I wouldnt give it the main browser status yet.

    Rambodoc – Thank you. If you are on a Mac, Safari will be awesome. But Chrome might be a good choice in Windows.

    Reema – You’r welcome and Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to you too.

    Mahak – Welcome here. Yeah, it is indeed fast. Thank you and yes Google is pretty cool.

    Vishesh – As of now me too. I am just going to use Chrome to play around.

  3. i like it too .i am using it now πŸ˜€
    i find status bar missing..Am i blind or there is no feature as such..IT helps a lot to find out whether the page is loading or not πŸ˜€
    but its nice and simple //i like it πŸ˜€

  4. oops..just found out after clciking the submit ..
    the status bar is indeed present ..kinda invisible..
    it showed …waiting for maduraiverran.wordpress…….
    πŸ˜€
    i found it πŸ˜€ yay!!

  5. Google, until now was able to spy on you based only on the services that they provided but now, they might know whatever you do online.
    This is a freaky thing!

    You might say, they ain’t doing this… they might not be doing it now.. but sure they’ll have something of that sort once you are addicted to chrome.. it’s there forte!

  6. Arvind – Cool πŸ™‚ The status icon is more like Palm’s sync icon – Rotating arc.

    Sandeep – Point taken. The words Ads, Free, Google, Privacy in one sentence have always been controversial.

  7. Happy Ganesh Chaturthi! πŸ™‚
    I’ve been playing with Chrome all day yesterday and this morning… Sometimes, the page doesnt scroll up if using a scroll mouse… I have to drag the scroll bar up… Maybe its just the beta version acting up! πŸ˜€
    Other than this, I love Chrome! You’ve hit the nail on the head!! Minimalist and awesome! πŸ˜€

  8. Nikhil – Thank you, yes Chrome is good for its minimalist design. Yeah, I have also had a few crashes for the Beta Version, so I am treading cautiously.

    Arthi – Thank you, But I wouldnt switch entirely yet atleast until its out of Beta.

  9. Rahul
    “but Firefox still remains my fav”
    On Windows, Firefox still remains my Fav too.

    “Chrome disappoints BIG time”
    We may need to give it some time to get out of Beta.

    Apar
    “Firefox first; chrome trying it out”
    I am doing the same πŸ™‚

    “like it though as I am a google fan”
    Me too a Google fan and yes I kinda like Chrome but it will only be a second browser.

  10. I am not positive where you are getting your info, however good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or figuring out more. Thank you for great information I used to be in search of this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

