Posted in Travel

Mini Travelogue: St. Louis Hindu Temple

Hindu Temples in US are more like community centers. They are usually just big hall buildings with dieties around the hall. The hall is also used for community activity and celebrations of occasions like Diwali, Ganesh Chathurthi, Sivarathiri, Durga Pooja etc. I haven’t visited a lot of temples here in the US, but the ones I have are like this. I have heard temples in Pittsburgh, Chicago are very good. I haven’t been there.

St. Louis Temple stood out in the way it is built. The Gopuram and the art work on the walls around it made it look very much like a temple in India, even though it is nothing compared to the stone made ancient temples in India. The Gopuram and walls are painted white which also makes it different from the stone Gopurams in India.

Even though the front has a nice big door like that in India, the access was through the side where you had to leave your shoes and coats, take a hand and feet wash and then climb up to the temple hall. The statues inside the temple were also very nice. The main diety is Lord Venkateswara and then you have other dieties like Ganesha, Durga, Navagraha and all those standard Hindu dieties.

Photography was not allowed inside the temple. The temple in Dallas did allow us to take photos though and also the temple here in Kansas. I guess rules are different in different places. Also, this temple had a dress code. We were not supposed to be wearing shorts, but since we drove down to the temple we were wearing trekking shorts due to the weather. The manager in charge was polite though and said it was ok for us to enter the temple in our shorts since we had come a long way. But we respected the temple rules and grabbed a Dhoti from the manager (No, not the one he was wearing). The temple was loaning dhotis to those like us, just the way they do in temples in Kerala.

The only thing was if we had to reach our wallet or the phone in our shorts we had to pull up the dhoti like Raj Kiran and reach for it like a village idiot.

As for women, they are not allowed to wear micro mini skirts, tube tops, tank tops. Alas, there is no saree available for loan if you end up in the temple this way.

PS: This is my 100th post and it seems I have crossed 10K hits on the stats. I would like to thank all of my readers who have been part of this. I really appreciate it.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

17 thoughts on “Mini Travelogue: St. Louis Hindu Temple

  1. “grabbed a Dhoti from the manager (No, not the one he was wearing”

    LOL ๐Ÿ˜€
    Wow! the temple looks awesome. Congrats on 100th post and 10000 hits! Blog On!!

  2. lol and you have got an award to celebrate your 100 and 10k ๐Ÿ˜›

    ha,i hate kerala temples,they make me show my stomach…lol ๐Ÿ˜‰ you need to have a 6 pack or their style big belly to feel comfie ;P

  3. Reema – Thank you, and yeah the temple was awesome from the inside too, but photography was not allowed, so couldn’t snap it.

    Vishesh – Thank you for the award, I am honored to receive it from you and at the right moment. Feels great.

    ha,i hate kerala temples,they make me show my stomachโ€ฆlol you need to have a 6 pack or their style big belly to feel comfie ;P
    It is a conspiracy, they want to compare and see who has the flattest belly.

    Sakhi – Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good that you spared the manager for dhoti
    I think I felt that, because the manager took a step back holding his dhoti. He must have realized we were going to try grabbing his, just for kicks.

  4. Shivya
    “wow, nice pictures. “
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    “looks a lot like one of those ancient temples in India, whitewashed :p”
    Yeah the Gopuram made it look like that, and yes Whitewashed ๐Ÿ™‚

    “Congrats on 100 & 10k!”
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anniyan
    Congrats dude! Nice pics too.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I never thought temples in the US were THIS good.
    Me neither and I think there are better temples in US, I will post the one in Nashville soon.

    “Nice review (I think itโ€™s a review. Isnโ€™t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ ).
    It is a Travelogue(I think it’s a travelogue. Isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    Arvind
    “congratz for ur 100 post man..
    for ur 10k hits too ..”

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    “by the way the temples look so artificial ..”
    Of course, if it was natural then it would be a mountain. Just Kidding, I know what you mean!

  5. Rahul
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Suja
    Thanks for sharing this
    Welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wonder if there are Diwali celebrations planned for this year too?
    There must be a plan I think. I didn’t notice any announcement or banner indicating they were having one though.

  6. Can U please tell me why photography of Hindu deity or idol generally not allowed. Is there any scientific reason for this ban other than religious beliefs.

  7. pdkamath
    Beautiful site and a great blogging with nice pictures. Keep it up
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can U please tell me why photography of Hindu deity or idol generally not allowed
    It is one of those things that I haven’t really known why. I have no idea why they impose such a rule. In some temples in US, there isn’t such rule.

    Is there any scientific reason for this ban other than religious beliefs
    Probably not I guess! If there is a scientific reason I would like to know it myself, but no mention of that either.

Leave a Reply

