Posted in Family, Technology

Happiness from iPod and a Water Fountain

It was a cloudy saturday evening and we decided to go off on a mission to get some groceries done for the week. After finishing the ordeal that is called Grocery shopping, we thought we might want to check out the new Apple store in our area. This store has been opened up recently and we never got the time or need to drop in, until now. Apple has released a new iPod Nano and iPod Touch and we thought we could test drive it at the store. We drove around looking for the store for a few minutes, our eyes lying on several different things trying to locate a big Apple logo. My 1.5 year old daughter saw the big Apple logo sign first and said “Apple!” and that’s how we found the store. The store was slightly bigger than the one at Country Club Plaza in Kansas city.

How thin can an iPod be?

Apple has put iPod Nano on a strict fat free diet. It has squeezed the jelly out of it using a sugarcane juice maker. Then using a Chappati rolling stick, normally used by wives to beat the crap out of husbands, they have rolled the iPod Nano sideways to give it a thin oval look. This thing was so thin and light that if someone stood upside down in the store on his index fingers, I would have said “huh! Big deal!”.

The screen was brilliant and bright and the interface response time was quick. The colors were fantastic and I loved the Orange, Yellow and Silver of the lot. The screen is too small for playing a video, so it is probably just for occasional peeking and wouldn’t be usable for full length TV Shows or Movies.

The new iPod Nano shuffles beautifully. You just shake the iPod and it plays the next song in the shuffle line. Remember the days when you used to beat the top of your radio to get a clear reception, well this is sorta like that. This is a cool new feature, I don’t have to look at the screen and just have to shake it to listen to a random next song.

Available in 8GB for $149 and 16GB for $199.

Me: “I love it. I want it one now, honey! Can I buy this 8GB one? It is just $149”                                                                     (Picture: http://www.apple.com)

Wife: “You already have a perfectly good iPod Nano!”

Me: “But this is new. Owning this will make me the happiest man, please, pretty please! See even the daughter is loving the iPod.”

My daughter was getting all curious and attempting her minority report stunt to grab hold of the iPods lying on the table. She was very curious looking at all the colorful ipods.

For Bargain Hunters, I saw the older iPod Nanos at 4GB- $99 and 8GB – $129. Just put a word to your relative in US heading to a vacation in India, but don’t point them to this blog!

iPods are also Touchy!

(Picture – http://www.apple.com)

When you get rid of the phone component in the iPhone, you get the iPod Touch. The new iPod Touch is even more thinner than it’s predecessor. Thin is becoming a feature now, a fashionable demand. Whenever you think how much thinner can it get, Apple shows it in the next version of the iPod. iPod touch has WiFi and can do email, Web browsing, Games, Applications and YouTube. In the first version of the iPod touch it was difficult for me to type on the touch screen, but this new version seems much more easier to type and I was quite surprised by that. I wonder what changed, perhaps the software.

YouTube is the key here. It can be very addicting especially due to the simple and cool YouTube user interface on the iPod Touch. So I searched and watched this song and it came out really well on the device.

I also played this song, one of my daughter’s favourite. She always laughs whenever she sees Rajinikanth on the screen. Perhaps, she thinks that he is a comedian and he is always funny, especially due to this song.

She smiled wide as she saw Rajinikanth dance for the Style number in Sivaji.

Me: “This is a cool iPod. I think we can buy this. I don’t want the iPod Nano, I will have this one. It is just $229 and it will make me very happy.”

Wife: “You keep changing your mind!”

My daugther concurred with me as she was now all stimulated to grab hold of the iPod touch playing Rajinikanth’s song on Youtube.

We finished our window shopping and then came out of the store. It was a cool dark evening and the fountain just by the store was glittering beautifully in the halogen light coming from inside the fountain. We stood there for a while to enjoy a calm moment, a gentle breeze, sound of the water flowing in the fountain. It was a happy moment to just look at the fountain in silence.

I didn’t want to buy it and have it for myself, but it made me happy. It wasn’t a cool iPod with cool features, but it made me happy. My daugther was agreeing with me as she smiled wide looking at the water and the light and making attempts to try and catch the flowing water.

I realized two things:

1. Happiness is a temporary feeling that shifts from one thing to another that you like.

2. Happiness is not just in buying cool things but Happiness is in the way you like something around you.

It is amazing to see the wisdom that a child brings to you.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

21 thoughts on “Happiness from iPod and a Water Fountain

  1. everything OK but why did you have to remind me of the plaza! I lived bang opp to the apple store and wud go there to check my email before i got a lappy.

    i liked the way u ended it though, KC has so many fountains! where was this one metcalf/college blvd?

  2. Ibrahim – Thank you 🙂

    Maxdavinci
    “everything OK but why did you have to remind me of the plaza! I lived bang opp to the apple store and wud go there to check my email before i got a lappy.”
    Wow that would be a cool place to live. I expect you had fun there everyday. Is your lappy a Mac?

    “i liked the way u ended it though”
    Thanks 🙂

    “KC has so many fountains! where was this one metcalf/college blvd?”
    Oh this is just a small one by the new Apple store on 119th and Roe ave in Leawood.

    Deep Trance
    “I placed an order for the 16GB Nano last week.”
    Cool Choice 🙂

    “Your post is a week late.”
    It is never too late to realize what is happiness.

  3. You are totally right dude. APPLE RULES!!!
    Now coming to the happiness part, it is always relative to something. Happiness is what YOU consider it to be. It is not already established. Good post. Keep up the good work. 🙂

  4. i’m one of those who wont accept apples products to be cool eventhough owning one of them. only one thing comes to my mind at the instance when i hear or read about apple products ..
    “All that glitters are not gold ” 🙂

    Happyness is a state of mind.. nobody can define it in a precise way.. but it seems to happen when you feel that you have experienced or experiencing something good.. 🙂

    Nice post though..

  5. Happiness is also when we hold a slim, sexy, sensual, iPod shuffle in our hands and caress it… Think of me as your evil side, red in color, with two horns and pointy tail… Go, DB.. Go buy the iPod… Go… goooo….

  6. Anniyan
    “APPLE RULES!!!”
    Yes indeed:)

    “Happiness is what YOU consider it to be.”
    True, what is happiness for you may not be for others!

    “Good post. Keep up the good work. :)”
    Thank you 🙂

    shivya
    “nice post!”
    Thank you

    “yes yes, i love the new iPod Nano too, especially in the purple.”
    Cool, that is a nice color.

    Whacky
    “i’m one of those who wont accept apples products to be cool”
    You are right, Apple products are not cool, they are hot!

    “All that glitters are not gold ”
    True, there are some metals and plastic that can glitter too!

    “Happyness is a state of mind.. nobody can define it in a precise way..”
    You just feel Happiness, you cannot define it.

    “but it seems to happen when you feel that you have experienced or experiencing something good.. :)”
    Yes that is true 🙂

    “Nice post though..”
    Thank you 🙂

  7. Nikhil
    “Happiness is also when we hold a slim, sexy, sensual, iPod shuffle in our hands and caress it…”
    I have a blue iPod shuffle 🙂

    “Think of me as your evil side, red in color, with two horns and pointy tail… Go, DB.. Go buy the iPod… Go… goooo…”
    Eventually I will, after all iPods cannot go on forever, it has to be replaced someday!

    vishesh
    “why am ipod,which plays only itunes?”
    Because it is simple and easy to use and cool!

    “lol,i think MP3 players are better…”
    iPod is also an MP3 player 🙂

    arvind
    “total happyness can be reached at eternity ,,,’always wanting more 😛
    You do not need to attain total happiness. Peace is what you need to attain 🙂

    “i dont have even the first version of ipod ..
    :(“

    Don’t worry, someday you will. Time always has an answer!

  8. Oh men, oh men !!

    They won’t change for sure… the mad craze for latest gadgets. 🙂

    BTW, thanks for that link on Idaikattur. Have scheduled it for tomorrow.

  9. hey you call you wife, honey? and actually ask for a “permission”…cho chweet!! 🙂

    See, we females, always read what we want to!! 😛 😛

    P.S. : well all the best for the new iPod 🙂

  10. “We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.”

    ~ Frederick Keonig

    A family, eyes to see the evening, ears to hear the water rippling and life to enjoy such moments.

  11. Cuckoo
    “Oh men, oh men !!”
    men men men menly men men …oh oooh oooh ..reminded me of that title song from Two and a half men.

    “They won’t change for sure… the mad craze for latest gadgets. “
    What’s there to change? Gadget loving is perfectly normal

    “BTW, thanks for that link on Idaikattur. Have scheduled it for tomorrow.”
    I have to thank you for that. You guys are great when it comes to recognizing new blogs. I see that you have posted it! 🙂

    Sakhi
    “hey you call you wife, honey?”
    Yes, she is very sweet, that’s why.

    ” and actually ask for a “permission”…cho chweet!!”
    Yes, that ensures I don’t spend too much on electronics.

    “See, we females, always read what we want to!!”
    Which is why I think females are Goddesses.

    “P.S. : well all the best for the new iPod”
    See that’s what I like, inspite of all the advice on don’t buy it, they eventually buy that for us as a gift. Thank you for your wishes 🙂 I know it will come true someday.

    Reema
    That is a very nice quote Reema.

    “A family, eyes to see the evening, ears to hear the water rippling and life to enjoy such moments.”
    Agree with you totally and that is where I find peace 🙂

  12. Just how I used to feel in an Apple store…well not just the ipods, the imacs too 😉
    About the happiness bit, I think it goes the way the citibank ad goes…to see the kid play with the box the toy came in- priceless 😀 Footnote: my son always ends up playing with the box!!!

  13. Apar
    well not just the ipods, the imacs too
    Macbook Air is delicious. I didn’t taste it, but if I do I bet it will be tastier than saravana bhavan dosa.

    the kid play with the box the toy came in- priceless
    Yes, one would wish we could have just got the box 🙂

    my son always ends up playing with the box
    My daughter too. She likes the simplest of things like a cup.

Leave a Reply

