Posted in Movies

The Rise of Slackers

Michael Moore has released his latest documentary “Slackers Uprising” at the right time with US Elections just a few weeks away. You can download the movie legally for free, just follow the link provided by Patrix.

The term Slackers in this movie refers to College Students (So not people like me), who would prefer to be Lazy and Party around (Sounds like me) instead of registering and voting in Elections (Shit! Sounds exactly like me!). I have many reasons myself for not voting in India:

– I wan’t in a single place long enough to catch an election.

– I did have a chance once, I went to the election booth with my Voter’s id only to find that they didn’t have my name listed in the Roll. That was it, I traveled away again and I don’t know when I will be able to vote again in Elections.

Ever since I saw Fahrenheit 9/11, I had become a big fan of his work. His documentaries are all about bringing forward truth with facts. When you watch his documentary you can’t help but notice Truth staring at your face. Slackers Uprising is one such effort by Michael Moore.

Picture: http://www.slackeruprising.com

The movie is about his struggle that he went through in the Fall of 2004 before the US Presidential election, to tour colleges in US and make the students to register and vote. With just 5 weeks left to election in 2004, He toured colleges in 60 cities in that short frame of time. It was amazing to see what one man was capable of doing. At some point I felt Moore must be Gandhi of the West. Sure, he isn’t exactly what Gandhi was, but his belief in fighting the Bush Administration with Truth was remarkably similar to what Gandhi did against the British. Throughout the movie, Moore doesn’t dislike the citizens who are Republicans. In fact he goes to the length of welcoming the folks who disrupt his speech and tells them that if Democrats come to power, whatever beneficial things that are going to happen will happen for them too. This is another place where I saw Gandhi in him.

Winston Churchill did say that if Gandhi fought him with Guns and Canons, He would have crushed him with his weapons. But Gandhi fought him with Truth and Churchill said that there is no weapon to kill Truth. Moore’s agenda was simple and clear throughout the movie:

1. To bring out the Truth in front of the people.

2. To show them their responsibility and what it means for the Young to go out and Vote.

To me Michael Moore is a Modern Gandhi and I wish we had more or atleast one in every country.

There are various issues that one has to consider for this election – Economy, Jobs, Healthcare, Illegal Immigrants, Environment, Rising prices of Energy, Foreign policy. These issues will have to be fought and solved even after the elections. But to put the first step in the right direction for all these issues to be solved, it is very important for every American Citizen to go out and vote. This is exactly what the movie portrays.

The movie begins with showing how John Kerry, who was leading in opinion polls, all of a sudden was steered away due to the Republican Campaign. By the time Kerry and Democrats responded much damage had been done. Moore comes to the rescue, by talking to the young voters who haven’t registered to vote and urges them to Vote. The movie is all about that Journey, the difficulties, the opposition from Republicans preventing him to speak and much more. In the end, Kerry doesn’t win. He loses only by a small margin and if Moore hadn’t done what he did, Kerry would have lost with a wider margin

That is the essence of the movie, To show what difference it will make if each and every eligible citizen in a Democracy (not just USA) goes out to Vote for whom he/she believes in. The key word is Democracy and hence this movie can not only be applied to the US Context but also to all the countries which exercise Democracy. This is exactly why I care about the movie even though I am not a US Citizen.

Why should the rest of world care if Slackers in US Vote or not?

1. US is the No. 1 Economy. If something happens to this big economy the ripples are felt through the entire world. There is no doubt about that.

2. As a leader US has the power to set an example either good or bad, because they are looked upon by the world as the leader. The attitude in most cases is “It worked in US, so we do it” or “It failed in US, so let’s not repeat that” with some exceptions.

3. The Govt. that comes to power in US has the say in Foreign policies and that means a lot to other countries that have ties.

I am not a politically savy person and these are just some reasons I can think of as to why People of the world will care about the US Elections. There could also be other reasons like Technology, Education, Science, Medicine, Business etc. If you know of anymore reasons please feel free to share it with me.

Here is a non-U.S Citizen sincerely hoping that good things will happen in this election and People will cast their vote for carefully thought out reasons and not for reasons that sound like “Sarah Palin is Cute”, “Sarah Palin is Hot”, “Dude, did you see her in Bikini?”, “Palin’s glasses are awesome, it’s a rage”, “Palin’s Daughter is way Cuter than Hillary’s”!

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

25 thoughts on “The Rise of Slackers

  1. Michael Moore is one good Moviemaker. I have been watching all his movies right from the 9/11
    Sicko was exceptionall too.. and ofcourse he does relates to gandhi in some perspective .

    Even the Morgan Spurlock is similar to him who made “SuperSize Me”

    People need to watch these exceptional documentaries ,which are actually made for their own awareness .

    Hope people Do realize the importance of their vote and the impact of it and do pick a candidate who would fit better

  2. I would really lilke to see both his works.. haven’t seen farenheit 9/11 either!! 😦

    and voting per se should be used as weapon in the country like India where we hardly have any other way to show the bastards sitting on the big positions what we feel about them!!

  3. Moore is good. Liked his Farenheit 9/11 ; will check this one out.
    As long as franchise is concerned; I believe we must enforce our right to vote. It is not only a right but also a duty. We cannot complain about how the government works when we did not do the bare minimum of voting! I know there will be many who say, what is the point how does one vote of mine count. Well, Kerry and Gore are examples of how the votes count. Anyone who has read First Among Equals will also understand the importance of each vote 😉 It does not matter which country you are a citizen of, voting is not just a fundamental right but as I said before; to reiterate it is a duty. I have voted in the elections when I was here in India. I have to get my voter’s ID and am waiting for that. Will definitely put in mine in the next. 😀

  4. Whacky
    Michael Moore is one good Moviemaker.
    He is an excellent documentary maker.

    Sicko was exceptionall too..
    It was brilliant!

    he does relates to gandhi in some perspective;
    Yes, not physically but by his ideas.

    Even the Morgan Spurlock is similar to him who made “SuperSize Me”
    Morgan S is another brilliant documentary maker that I like. He has a kind of guts and creative experimentation skills that no one has. SuperSize me was awesome and so his 30 days TV series.

    People need to watch these exceptional documentaries ,which are actually made for their own awareness
    Exactly, but unfortunately people watch the so called “Reality Shows”.

    Hope people Do realize the importance of their vote and the impact of it and do pick a candidate who would fit better
    Let’s hope so 🙂

    Sakhi
    I would really lilke to see both his works.. haven’t seen farenheit 9/11 either!! 😦
    You should watch it. Slacker’s uprising is free in US, not sure how we can get it in India. His works are very good.

    and voting per se should be used as weapon in the country like India where we hardly have any other way to show the bastards sitting on the big positions what we feel about them!!
    Exactly! Voting is our only weapon against them. That’s exactly why they are keeping us alive (That is a metaphor)!

  5. Apar
    Moore is good. Liked his Farenheit 9/11 ; will check this one out.
    Yes, F911 was brilliant.

    I believe we must enforce our right to vote. It is not only a right but also a duty.
    Moore emphasizes this fact in this movie to every college student that he spoke to.

    We cannot complain about how the government works when we did not do the bare minimum of voting!
    Exactly, complaining is in our nature. We should learn to see things in ourselves before we complain and this is also one of those cases.

    I know there will be many who say, what is the point how does one vote of mine count.
    Unfortunately yes, that’s why we don’t see a 100% turnout or atleast 90%, discounting those who cannot due to some unavoidable reasons.

    Well, Kerry and Gore are examples of how the votes count.
    Fine examples.

    It does not matter which country you are a citizen of, voting is not just a fundamental right but as I said before; to reiterate it is a duty.
    I agree with you totally.

    I have voted in the elections when I was here in India. I have to get my voter’s ID and am waiting for that. Will definitely put in mine in the next. 😀
    I definitely hope I can vote the next time 🙂

    Whoa! sorry about the long comment…did not realise as I was typing 😉
    That’s ok. I usually don’t get long comments and I am glad I am starting to get a few now. It encourages me to write well and more. Makes me feel that I have conveyed a lot about the subject. So I didn’t really mind the long comment.

    vishesh
    truth! 😀
    Yes, Truth is the key!

    Whacky
    @ Apar: Voting is damn important accepted. But include “No any of them” Option in the voting Machine , i’d be the first to vote in my constituency 😛
    Hmmm… That would be same as not voting. You should still vote to the person whom you think will do the best, no matter how crooked he/she may be.

  6. @ Dinesh @ Apar: The political fraternity in India always knew if there was such an option available to the educated mass or atleast masses which were aware of the miscreants of the candidates then it would be a debacle for them and moreover it was even suggested that if the alternative option i.e”None of the above” option was a majority then the consituency might be under the state governor’s rule which wasn’t welcomed by the fatso politicians and hence it never appeared in the Electronic Voting Machines.

    Do you guys still remember that ?? 😉

  7. Farenheit 9/11 was superb.. will chk out the other stuff.

    nice post 🙂

    On a funny note : Sarah Palin is indeed hot.
    Manmohan Singh was blushing meeting her and Zardari was flirting with her. She will have nice “Foreign relations” 😆

  8. Apar
    Saw this on TV…pretty apt ad for this one 😉
    Will check it out for sure when I get home 🙂

    Thanks Dinesh; that was gonna be the exact answer I was going to give whacky.
    You’re welcome

    Whacky
    The political fraternity in India always knew if there was such an option available … then it would be a debacle for them
    As it is, it is getting very hard for one party to get absolute majority.

    ”None of the above” option was a majority then the consituency might be under the state governor’s rule
    That would make sense, but People would have to know beforehand that None of the above means Governor rule, in that case you are not voting for “None”, you are voting for the Governor. For any country to grow, Govt. stability is key.

    which wasn’t welcomed by the fatso politicians
    That isn’t surprising 🙂

    Sharad Bapat
    Farenheit 9/11 was superb..
    Absolutely!

    nice post 🙂
    Thank you 🙂

    On a funny note : Sarah Palin is indeed hot.
    She can be hot, as long as people don’t vote for her for that reason 🙂

    Manmohan Singh was blushing meeting her
    Really? he he…

    She will have nice “Foreign relations”
    🙂

  9. Nikhil
    Movie’s not available for download outside US and Canada
    Yeah I see that, that is bad!

    When you’re coming to India, write this on a DVD for me
    I think by that time you should get the DVD in India. I will try to bring it for you.

    Shefaly
    Slackers are behaving like Homo Economicus
    Thanks for introducing me to a new term.

    This old post may interest you
    I liked it and have commented in your blog.

  10. Just few days ago got a mail from Mr.Moore (rather his website as I had registered myself there)telling me to download this one for free. I didn’t attempt as my connection is terribly slow & the offer is only for US & CANADA.

    But waiting to see his work surely as I am a Fan & vividly track his work.

    P.S. Sarah Palin is really Cute & I would surely like to vote for her 🙂

  11. Rahul
    the offer is only for US & CANADA.
    Yes, for now it is just US and Canada to limit the traffic to people who need the most. It will then hopefully open up to the world.

    But waiting to see his work surely as I am a Fan & vividly track his work.
    Me too a fan of this work.

    P.S. Sarah Palin is really Cute & I would surely like to vote for her
    She seems quite dumb from how Tina Fey portrayed her in SNL 🙂

  12. I’m late to the conversation here, but this is a good thread. I think there will be a record turn-out this year. But lately, I’ve been wondering why anyone is left who is voting Republican?

    Also, I’d like to mention that I think the US once had some moral authority in the world — especially before and right after World War II. But it seems we have largely squandered that.

  13. Paul
    I think there will be a record turn-out this year
    Considering the situation we have got ourselves into, I think more people will be eager to make their voice and needs heard.

    I’ve been wondering why anyone is left who is voting Republican?
    You know, me too. If McCain feels like another Bush, why should there be a reason to vote for him.

    US once had some moral authority in the world
    Yes, in one way. Einstein also believed that he had to contact Roosevelt about the Atom Bomb that Hitler might create.

    it seems we have largely squandered that
    Yes, and it has a widespread global effect.

Leave a Reply

