Posted in Family

Professional Ducks

Ducks don’t have to be the same Quacking, swimming, eating, mating birds. If the Makers can get the Chinese workers to imagine a bit, and if the buyers are suckers for cute things, then you can make Ducks that are Tennis players or Station Masters or even Pirates. The following picture is the proof:

It is amazing to see how much creativity goes into such little things, by paying 0.5 cents to a Chinese factory worker for a toy that might cost 5 cents to manufacture and gets sold for 97 cents in the US.

PS: 0.5 and 5 cents are not actual numbers, They are mere exaggeration. 97 cents is naked truth though.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

19 thoughts on “Professional Ducks

  1. πŸ™‚ They look sooooooo cute.. And the price factor is a reality you will have to accept!!

    Mickey, minnie, donalt, daizy, goofy etc. also came from the same imagination! πŸ™‚

  2. Reema
    Awwww so cute!!!
    Aye! Cute is the key marketing word.

    Sakhi
    They look sooooooo cute
    Indeed.

    And the price factor is a reality you will have to accept!!
    Yes, I have come to!

    Mickey, minnie, donalt, daizy, goofy etc. also came from the same imagination!
    Exactly, This applies to all those toys and goods.

    Vishesh
    lol they look cute
    Yes πŸ™‚

    ..but don’t Chinese stuff,they are supposed to contain some bad stuff…
    Not always, whenever they feel like ripping off the Americans they paint the toy with Lead paint. If they usually have bad stuff, they get recalled after someone finds it.

    Sharad
    Pirate is lovely
    Yeah, I thought so too.

  3. Yeah…really cute.. Your kid’s bath toys? The number of such cute things in the market, I used to think I am gonna be bankrupt getting it all. πŸ™‚ Guess I liked these more than my son even πŸ˜‰

  4. Usha
    Where were these when I was 2 years old.
    True, Although I used to enjoy the live ones in a huge bath tub called the Vaigai River.

    Not fair, I want to go back and do it all over again today.
    You can still do it. Just don’t tell anyone πŸ™‚

    Really really cute.
    I think so too!

    Apar
    Yeah…really cute.. Your kid’s bath toys?
    Cute yes, and yeah it is a bath toy.

    The number of such cute things in the market
    Only car spare parts are ugly πŸ™‚

    I used to think I am gonna be bankrupt getting it all.
    Only if you fill the house with atleast several thousand ducks.

    Guess I liked these more than my son even
    Sometimes I get a toy for the daughter so that we can play together. Like the Radio Controlled car I bought the other day.

  5. I did not mean just the cute ducks…in general all those toys!! πŸ˜€ The child in me I suppose. These days every time I head out, I end up getting a car for my son or expanding his geotrax set (pity they don’t have much of those stuff here in Chennai…but each time there is a new one, it ends up at home! πŸ™‚ )The said set entertains the whole family! πŸ™‚
    Car spare parts?! cute? why must they be?! just wondering!

  6. I sometimes wonder how large might the market be for all these Chinese Nic-Nacs & Toys,the world over. Some one should do a Research report on this. Would b interesting.

  7. Apar
    I did not mean just the cute ducks…in general all those toys!!
    Yes, I knew that. I just wanted my reply to sound funny πŸ™‚

    The child in me I suppose.
    Of course. Everyone has a child in them. It is a common misconception that only pregnant ladies have child(ren) in them.

    These days every time I head out, I end up getting a car for my son
    Whoa, a Car everytime! I hope it is just a Toy Car πŸ™‚ just kidding!

    or expanding his geotrax set
    Waiting to get that, once my daughter passes the “choking hazard” age.

    The said set entertains the whole family! πŸ™‚
    Agreed, some of the said toys are awesome for the whole family.

    Car spare parts?! cute? why must they be?! just wondering!
    Never mind, Just a bad attempt at a Chandler-Seinfeld-like humour. I just meant that there are so many cute things, the only things that you will find not cute is Car Spare parts.

    Rahul
    I sometimes wonder how large might the market be for all these Chinese Nic-Nacs & Toys,the world over.
    I am glad you asked this, everyone else fell for the cute duck including me.

    Some one should do a Research report on this.
    That would a great post to do for Nita.

    Maxdavinci
    cute things no comment, me allergic…
    Wait till you get married and have a kid, You will have to overcome your allergy like how Batman faces his fear of Bats.

    I liek the new theme tough, besh!
    Thank you, I like it too. Plain, simple and neat.

  8. Whacky
    Cute but they are poisonous πŸ˜›
    I think snakes and octopuses are poisonous. Cute ducks from China are only sometimes poisonous when they coat it with lead paint. πŸ™‚

    i like the new theme..
    Thank you πŸ™‚ So do I.

    Arvind
    nice one…
    Thanks πŸ™‚

    these days creativity is getting better and better..
    But not sure if it is for the better πŸ™‚

  9. Funny thing was, I got the first starter set of the geotrax series when my son was in the “choking hazard” age!! Well, I got it in his name πŸ˜‰ and played with it πŸ˜€ Finding it tough to expand the set in India 😦 guess that has curbed my shopping spree for that set! πŸ˜€

  10. Apar
    I got the first starter set of the geotrax series when my son was in the β€œchoking hazard” age
    That’s brave or probably normal in India. Did u do this in US? I did buy an RC car that says 8+ age that also have choking hazard. We play with that together.

    Finding it tough to expand the set in India
    Surprised, not even Bangalore has it ?

    guess that has curbed my shopping spree for that set
    Probably a good thing then πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

