Posted in Humour, Travel

Mini Travelogue: Nashville Ganesha Temple

On the same Road Trip that we went the other day, we also went to the Ganesha Temple in Nashville, TN. Nashville is located somewhat south east of Kansas city and hence the place was hotter and humid than where we came from. The heat from the morning sun, a warm breeze and a feeling of running drops of sweat between my body and my T-Shirt made me feel like I was in Chennai. The place was just about 3 miles from the motel that we stayed. The Gujarati Motel Keeper bhai guided us to take the easiest street route that would be just under 3 miles, while the GPS lady showed us a freeway direction amounting to about 20 miles. We had a hunch that our bhai was more accurate and we followed his advice.

As we travelled down Hickory Blvd, we slowed down a bit and the temple was on the right and it was a bit difficult to spot the sharp right entrance. For a moment I thought we were being kidnapped by our friend as he took a quick sharp right turn into the Temple Entrance. We might have missed it if we didn’t have enough time to brake. The temple was slightly uphill. As we parked the car and stepped out, we saw a brilliant building with a golden colored pillar in front. The entrance of the temple was as usual from the side and the exit was from the front. I keep wondering why this is so in most temples here in US.

The temple had a series of stairs leading to the top as it was built on a small hill. It made it look like one of those hill top temples in South India. The day we went in, there was also a pooja going on for Puri Jagannath. The Jagannath statue was very big. Photography was not allowed inside and hence no pictures. The main deity is Lord Ganesha and this is one of the biggest I have seen. I can say it was almost as big as the Mukkurini Vinayaka in Madurai Meenakshi Amman Temple.

This temple was bigger than the one in St. Louis and it was quite an ambient place. It was a sunday and hence we did see a lot of people coming in. There was also a stall just inside the Temple Hallway, marketing some guruji’s preaching materials – books, CDs and also advocating some preaching sessions for a hefty sum ( I think $260, and that is costlier than an iPod Touch 8GB)! and Oh this was done by Americans!

PS:

OFF TOPIC – TWITTER:

I have plunged myself finally into Twitter. It is quite interesting and easy to quickly put one line updates of your life on the web. If you are on Twitter, let me know and I will follow you. You are also welcome to follow me if you want to hear weird things like:

I think a man has to carry two wallets to keep his sitting position balanced, otherwise he is tilted like Earth’s axis.”

Glass is a supercooled liquid and doesn’t flow like a liquid and so is hard stool !”

Whenever I see the button labeled “Quick min” on the microwave oven, I can’t help but think “Is Quick Min quicker than a minute?” “

Barney is purple and green in color for a reason. If it was black and white people would mistake it for a cow.”

A lot of people would have had high self esteem if we had Anti-Gravity Weighing scales”

The friendliest of all Dinosaurs that are not real is Barney.”

I was a born genius, Education ruined me. I then gave birth to another genius and now I am planning to ruin her.”

Hi guys … am new to twitter. It is strange that at some point everyone is new to something :)”

These are some of the interesting update messages I have on my Twitter page so far and I will try to update with more as I go. See you there in Twitter!

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

15 thoughts on “Mini Travelogue: Nashville Ganesha Temple

  1. Vishesh
    lol πŸ˜‰ 3 and 20
    Oh Yeah!

    i am there in twitter,some how never got into it tough
    If you get the firefox addon Twitterfox, it is easy to track and easier to get addicted πŸ™‚

    Maxdavinci
    sardarjee in a pillayar kovil, so nice to see…
    Going by the proportion you should see atleast 1 Sardar in a Indian Gathering.

    I see you are enticing ppl to follow you by posting your tweets!
    Urge to share πŸ™‚

    besh besh!
    Nanri

    Arvind
    ITs very nice to see temples in US ..
    Yup, we are glad there are a few here.

    even i am in twitter but i never update it,..
    That’s ok!

    Reema
    Nice pics!
    Thank you

    i m on twitter but like arvind I m not a regular.
    That is ok!

    Did i tell u ur blog theme is very good? It is.
    Thank you πŸ™‚ You told me now πŸ™‚

  2. good travellogue but why do you call the gujju motel owner “bhai”!!! πŸ˜› It sounds as if he is in some kind of gunda-gand in mumbai πŸ˜† πŸ˜›

    I am not on twitter and am not going to be there since i know i will not be able to update it regularly.. but happy twittering to you and your friends!! πŸ™‚

  3. Sakhi
    good travellogue
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    but why do you call the gujju motel owner β€œbhai”!!!
    Like how folks called Abhishek as Gurubhai in Guru πŸ™‚

    It sounds as if he is in some kind of gunda-gand in mumbai
    Who knows he could be in a Gunda gang in Nashville.

    I am not on twitter and am not going to be there since i know i will not be able to update it regularly.. but happy twittering to you and your friends!! πŸ™‚
    That’s ok, Thanks πŸ™‚

    Sharad
    Hey beautiful temple,captured beautifully.
    Thank you πŸ™‚ Next time I will try to capture an ugly temple beautifully πŸ™‚

    Some funny updates…the first one is too good πŸ™‚
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Catch u on twitter.
    See u there.

  4. Oh the Gujju bhais are good with short routes πŸ™‚ Nice pics…am on twitter; but never got onto it somehow! lazy me?

  5. Rahul
    Very Nice pics DB
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Not very familiar with Twitter.. will check it out soon
    Have to warn you that it is addicting with Twitterfox and Twitterrific.

    Apar
    Oh the Gujju bhais are good with short routes
    They are kings aren’t they!

    Nice pics…am on twitter; but never got onto it somehow!
    Thanks … that’s ok πŸ™‚

    lazy me
    Me too. Lazy is so normal, we need another word to describe super lazy.

  6. Sakhi
    yes its a way of calling somebody who is elder or when you want to give somebody β€œrespect” in Gujarat
    See, there you go! When you meet a Roman you have to treat him as Roman!

  7. Apar
    Super lazy about describes it right…Inertial (is that a word?!)
    I like Inertial. We can keep that word until Inertial becomes normal and then we have to look for Super Inertial!

Leave a Reply

