Posted in Movies

Fictional than strange

I cannot imagine more than 3 dimensions, but scientists say there are 10. What could be occupying the dimension 10, I thought. A group of Supreme beings or perhaps one single humongous unisex creature? A creature that sits all day and does nothing but write a book or perhaps a bunch of them writing different chapters of the same book, The book of our Universe, a full abridged monstrous Epic about the life of a tiny segment of life form called human beings?

It is said that while great writers know how to take their story along, they believe in letting their Character lead their plot rather than themselves. So do these Creatures know the plot but want us to lead the plot? Does life as it exists happen as the way they write it? Is everything around us simply an imagination penned by these creatures? And since we exist in this imagination does everything look normal to us and we take it for granted?

A hard solid brown coloured tubular body with irregularities and draping of green coloured filmy shapes upon them and we just assume this piece of imagination as a Tree? A vast area of bouncy liquid and we call it the Sea? An Infinite area of blue shade and we call it the Sky? We have got so used to the things around, don’t we call all these strangely shaped props as our normal environment, while this strange work of imagination is nothing but fictional to the highly advanced creature in the Tenth Dimension?

Are we all just Fictional than Strange?

Picture from IGN Movies.

This was the thought that ran into my head when I finally got a chance and settled down to watch a brilliant movie Stranger than Fiction. A novel writer Karen Eiffel, who writes only tragedies writes about an IRS Tax man in her new book and strangely enough whatever she writes happens to this real life person Harold Crick. Harold leads the plot for the author and she pens her way into what happens next to him. Drama it is and one of the best I have seen. This is a must watch movie for all those who love fiction, imagination and Simple Drama as a result of that. I am sure you will enjoy it.

PS: This movie taught me about the phrase “Little did he know”, a third person reference of someone else when the third person knows what happens to the person than the person himself/herself.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

17 thoughts on “Fictional than strange

  1. Will try to find it πŸ™‚ Hmm..well well,i am used to the sky in anyway,i want to see what is beyond that and that has always been my dream,to become an astronaut πŸ™‚ And i will do it some how πŸ™‚ When i see the sea,i always feel the urge to plunge into and go beyond the horizon πŸ™‚ Well who told you we see only in three dimensions? πŸ˜›

  2. Vishesh
    i want to see what is beyond that and that has always been my dream
    That is always a fascinating subject. I mean one only see so much with our Naked eye, so it has to be researched and put into a book and made as a subject.

    And i will do it some how
    Good, you should try to achieve it.

    Well who told you we see only in three dimensions?
    No body. I just assumed because so far I haven’t seen the 5th dimension πŸ™‚

    Anniyan
    Very nice concept actually
    Yeah, I thought so too.

    Will make it a point to watch/read it
    You should watch it. I think it must be on DVD.

    Thanks for the spoiler-less review.
    It wasn’t exactly a review. It was more of a Random thought train on a Movie πŸ™‚

  3. when i read the first para, i thought either you have lost the mind or i have lost mine not to understand what you wrote! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    But now when you mention the movie part, i think i will make a point to see it… πŸ™‚

  4. That was one movie I truly enjoyed. I cannot think more than 3 dimensions …don’t think I can think more either. Little did I know that my mind is dumb πŸ™‚

  5. Ur thoughts remind me of the ending in Men in Black 2 (or was it one?) in which the camera keeps zooming out and finally its like our galaxy is just a ball type plaything in the hand of few aliens playing with many such balls.
    Whenever I look up at the sky i m humbled by my smallness in the Universe.

  6. Sakhi
    when i read the first para, i thought either you have lost the mind
    Are you sure it was just the first para? You don’t have to be so forgiving πŸ™‚

    or i have lost mine not to understand what you wrote!
    You might lose it if you have read mine very seriously πŸ™‚

    But now when you mention the movie part, i think i will make a point to see it
    Yes, the movie was just brilliant.

    Paul
    Physics is always showing us that our world, at the most basic level, is non-intuitive β€” non-common sense.
    I love Physics, I just hate it when it doesn’t love me back!

    Apar
    That was one movie I truly enjoyed.
    I loved the movie too.

    I cannot think more than 3 dimensions …don’t think I can think more either.
    The idea that there is even 10 dimensions is overwhelming for me, let alone trying to imagine it.

    Little did I know that my mind is dumb πŸ™‚
    I did know little that dumbness is in the mind.

  7. Reema
    Ur thoughts remind me of the ending in Men in Black 2 (or was it one?)
    It was Part 1, about the Galaxy in the orion’s belt. Orion being the cat.

    in which the camera keeps zooming out and finally its like our galaxy is just a ball type plaything in the hand of few aliens playing with many such balls.
    yes, my thoughts were similar except the higher order beings are playing with us mentally than physically.

    Whenever I look up at the sky i m humbled by my smallness in the Universe.
    I don’t need to look at the sky. One vast landscape/ water body is enough for me to invoke that humbleness in me.

    Sharad
    The first 2 paragraph were bouncers
    I hope the others were atleast full tosses πŸ™‚

    Understood as much as I should watch the movie
    There, that should be the half volley! You should play it …er… watch it πŸ™‚

  8. LOL …funny post…
    though it was illogical to relate creatures with dimentions … it was a funny read..
    i hope u have seen truman show
    ur post rmeinds me of that a little bit πŸ˜€

  9. Arvind
    illogical to relate creatures with dimentions
    Everything is logical in an imagination πŸ™‚

    i hope u have seen truman show
    Yes, it was great movie.

    Reema
    I mean the scene in which aliens are playing with galaxies. I β€˜m sure its MIB Part 2
    Yeah the small ball from the belt becomes the plaything with the Aliens. It might be part 2, I don’t remember. It has been very long I saw that movie.

  10. That movie’s been on my list for a while. Definitely going to watch it soon. Yea yea, existential dilemmas. I say our lives are a sadistic cosmic joke, a comic if you may.

  11. Reema
    Atlast 1 found the video to show u what I meant
    Ah yes, I remember that now. It comes in the end of the movie. Thanks for the Youtube link πŸ™‚

    Amit
    Thanks for introducing me to this movie.
    Welcome πŸ™‚

    Yes, its a very strange feeling when you have a sensation that life is not just a set of coincidences.
    Yes indeed, and I get these feelings more than often.

    Shivya
    That movie’s been on my list for a while.
    I had that on the list for a long time too, but thankfully it came on cable and I was able to watch it.

    Definitely going to watch it soon.
    You should!

    I say our lives are a sadistic cosmic joke, a comic if you may.
    Very close to sadistic joke and yes it is a sad comic with random comedy in between like a Bollywood love story πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

