Posted in Anecdotes, Family, Food, Humour

Delicious Diwali

Diwali in US happens in a very simple way. Usually the closest weekend is taken up as Diwali and a party happens at someone’s place. The party involves some food, and more food and then a lot more food. So the Diwali party on Sunday at my friend’s place went by the same way.

There was a huge lineup of sweets – Bread Halwa, Wheat Halwa, Motichur Laddu, Jamun. Of all the sweets, the significant one was Halwa. Yes, this Diwali we were all given Halwa. The term “To give Halwa” is well known in Tamil Nadu for a different reason. Let me illustrate the second meaning of the phrase with a few examples.

1. When the gas prices shot up like the SLV rocket, the brilliant business minds put forward a deal to customers buying cars in US. You buy their car and they will give you guaranteed $3 Gas Price even if the prices go up. So the customers thinking that very soon the gas prices will go up to $10 per gallon, signed the deal for $3 gas and bought the cars. Unfortunately, gas prices have fallen down to about $2.15 now which means their $3 gas deal is worth nothing. In other terms these customers were given Halwa by the car dealers. I pity them really.

2. You go to a much promising multi starrer Bollywood movie – Hrithik, Abishek, Aish expecting it to be exactly like Dhoom. But it turns out to be a disaster and you come out with the same old comment “Sequels are not always good”. In this case, the Movie producers/directors have given Halwa to the Audience.

3. The classic case of giving Halwa is from the “Boy loving Girl, Girl loving another Boy” Love story. In fact, this is where the term Halwa is used a lot. Girl tells the Boy that she likes him very much. Boy replaces the word ‘like’ with ‘Love’ and dreams about her, makes love to her, marries her, has 10 kids and 38 grand kids all in one dream sequence. The next day the girl insists I like you very much, but I am in love with your hot hunky friend, can you help me get to him? In an audible distance, the bursting of a transformer sound is heard and the boy’s heart is broken into 1000 pieces. The Girl has successfully given Halwa to the Boy.

The following are the laws of Halwa:

1. If a person is vulnerable to be given Halwa, then he/she will definitely be given Halwa at some point of time.

2. For every Halwa given, there is no equal and opposite Halwa unfortunately. So there is no possibility of the affected, being able to give back the same Halwa to the Source. You can try a different one.

3. The system of Halwa giving and receiving is unaltered unless acted upon by an external force, which has to be another Halwa giver or receiver.

If you do not understand the above laws, then you are vulnerable to be given Halwa at some point of time, So please read carefully and mug up!

The main dish had a lot Chicken. Sorry, there were a lot chicken which had main dish in them. Chicken Biryani, Chicken Kuruma, Chicken Fry you name the dish it was there with Chicken. By the end of the party, I am sure the entire Chicken race should have been extinct. If you are still having chicken it is either the last batch or a new breed of teenage mutated ninja Chickens.

Finally, we were desserted with a new innovative way of turning you ‘over’overweight – Fried Banana Icecream. It was delicious and I couldn’t help myself having it the second time. It was basically Banana, fried with some flour and topped with a scoop of Vanilla Ice cream. Fried Banana Icecream Rocks! But it turned my (Relatively) Rock Hard (Six pack) abs into Flowery soft round Michelin tyre. Hence the following comic:

Picture of Surya – http://www.chennai365.com , Michelin Man – http://www.berrimilla.com

It will now take me a full year to go back to Six Pack Surya. But then there will be another Diwali and I will be back to Michelin Muniyandi in 1 day.

Diwali is always Delicious!

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

24 thoughts on “Delicious Diwali

  1. halwa kudkartha pathi ivlo researcha? πŸ™‚
    6 pack to michelin man…well michelin man is a loooot cuter and definitely cuddlier…good for your little daughter πŸ˜€

  2. Trivia: Abhishek Bachchan ate a box of Mysore Pak everyday after lunch and took a nap after that. Apparently that was Mani Ratnam’s idea to beef him up for the old man look in Guru!

    Halwa works for you is guess…

    PS: this is the 11th diwali food post on my blogroll!

  3. Rads
    lol, dinno Halwa could be interpreted so many ways πŸ™‚
    See, that’s why I had to write about the second meaning of Halwa. There are so many things that can be interpreted in so many ways πŸ™‚

    Surya can be a hero, but Michelin’s always cho cute
    This is a trap into getting me to become the Michelin man!

    Apar
    halwa kudkartha pathi ivlo researcha? πŸ™‚
    Halwava Kindi illa kuduthurkanga. I had to do this research for the benefit of Halwa eating mankind.

    well michelin man is a loooot cuter and definitely cuddlier…good for your little daughter
    Even without being the Michelin man, that’s how she considers me. A giant live human trampoline.

    Vishesh
    yarku halwa?
    ‘Samy’kku! Porukki not police!

    thirunalvelika halwava?
    Idhu Kansas city Halwa!

  4. Shivya
    oh my, diwali in US is so much more happening (and much yummier)
    Oh God, You must be starving!

    than diwali in singapore.
    I always thought Singapore had a better chance at Diwali due to its proximity to Indian culture.

    I want halwa now 😦
    I hope it is the real Halwa and not the second meaning that I described πŸ™‚

    Maxdavinci
    Abhishek Bachchan ate a box of Mysore Pak everyday after lunch and took a nap after that.
    Poor boy, was it just Mysore pak every day? I wonder how Raj Thackerey allowed this after all ‘Mysore’ pak is not a Maharashtrian dish atleast in its name.

    Apparently that was Mani Ratnam’s idea to beef him up for the old man look in Guru!
    By feeding Abhishek with Mysore Pak, Mani Ratnam has given “Halwa” to him.

    Halwa works for you is guess…
    Halwa worked only on the left leg. The rest of the body is Chicken dishes and Fried Banana ice cream.

    this is the 11th diwali food post on my blogroll!
    You should ask Baba Bangali on his opinion about why people are obsessed with food post this Diwali!

  5. LOL @ halwa’s explaination …..
    I dont like halwa … i mean i eat it but not that much
    good that u enjoyed. .I would love to celebrate a diwali in that way πŸ™‚

  6. i had the same story from all my friends!!! A party at weekend. But that is good.
    And πŸ˜† that Halwa part is awesome. We generally use phrase like “Halwa samajha hai kya?” when we want to tell the other person that we are not a fool.
    And six pack is such a distant dream. Wish I was an actor. πŸ™‚

  7. The picture of wheat halwa looks like Karachi halwa which is a chewy form of halwa available in certain shops in Delhi.Like Amit we also use the phrase β€œHalwa samajha hai kya?” when we want to tell the other person that we are not a fool.About six pack and the relation of halwa you can either look good or enjoy good food. Whatever people might say diet foods can never taste as good as normal food.

  8. Halwa vaaaaaaaah !! πŸ˜›

    Cool that you had a fiest. πŸ™‚
    6-pack Surya and michellin both are cute ..
    i’m somewhere in between them after the diwali

    i’d like be the 8pack aamir of ghajini πŸ˜‰

  9. Arvind
    LOL @ halwa’s explaination …..
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    I dont like halwa … i mean i eat it but not that much
    That doesn’t mean you are excluded from being given Halwa.

    good that u enjoyed. .I would love to celebrate a diwali in that way πŸ™‚
    Be my guest. I mean when I host a Diwali party you can come as my Guest and celebrate the same way that I did πŸ™‚

    Amit
    i had the same story from all my friends!!!
    Long live Michelin Men!

    And πŸ˜† that Halwa part is awesome.
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    We generally use phrase like β€œHalwa samajha hai kya?”
    I have heard that in Hindi movies.

    And six pack is such a distant dream. Wish I was an actor. πŸ™‚
    You can’t have both. Six pack and being a good actor. Atleast in India.

  10. Pr3rna
    looks like Karachi halwa which is a chewy form of halwa available in certain shops in Delhi
    Yeah I have had those. It is also tasty and I like it.

    Like Amit we also use the phrase β€œHalwa samajha hai kya?”
    I think I remember this dialogue uttered by Mithundha, Aamir Khan, SRK in movies.

    you can either look good or enjoy good food.
    That is wonderful piece of wisdom.

    whatever people might say diet foods can never taste as good as normal food.
    Exactly! We can have normal food in smaller quantities.

    Whacky
    Cool that you had a fiest. πŸ™‚
    Yet, every dish was Hot!

    6-pack Surya and michellin both are cute ..
    I feel Michelin man is funny.

    i’m somewhere in between them after the diwali
    It is better than being the Michelin Man.

    i’d like be the 8pack aamir of ghajini
    No, pant pockets are not considered packs.

  11. I want Tirunelveli halwa from the shop opposite to MDU railway station now πŸ™‚ Thanks to you, I researched so much about Tirunelveli halwa, its recipe etc… Are you going to India in the near future, by any chance? πŸ˜›

  12. Hehe! I’m laughing so hard that people are looking strangely at me! πŸ˜€
    I will give them Halwa! Thanks for the enlightening laws of Halwa! I shall use them with gay abandon now! πŸ˜€

  13. A-Kay
    I want Tirunelveli halwa from the shop opposite to MDU railway station now πŸ™‚
    Oh yeah, that is so wonderful and delicious. My mouth is watering.

    Thanks to you, I researched so much about Tirunelveli halwa, its recipe etc…
    Will you be posting an Halwa making experience? Good that I kindled interest in you.

    Are you going to India in the near future, by any chance?
    Are you not in India? I thought you were. I have a plan to go there in the near term.

    Nikhil
    Hehe! I’m laughing so hard that people are looking strangely at me!
    He he Thanks πŸ™‚

    I will give them Halwa!
    There is immense pleasure if you cook it on your own and give them πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the enlightening laws of Halwa!
    It is the least that I could do to help the mankind.

    I shall use them with gay abandon now!
    Halwa giving is like Open source freeware, use at your will but don’t blame the maker for the consequences.

    Sakhi
    So, the Halwa is not always sooo sweet!!
    Oh Yeah πŸ™‚

    β€œfried banana” ice-cream??
    Yup. Fried banana and Ice cream on top of it. Simple yet delicious.

    Reema
    Good one with the Halwa!!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    U made my mouth water with all that food description
    Just stay little away from the keyboard, you don’t want to lose it by spreading it with Mouth water πŸ™‚

    I want fried banana ice cream too! Boo hooo
    It is very easy to make. Just don’t ask me how πŸ™‚

  14. Halwa! Delicious πŸ™‚

    ‘Halwa’ has played a very significant role in bollywood movies down the ages. After the hero’s return from abroad…. he would surely have ‘ma ke haath ka halwa’! πŸ˜›

  15. The Shanti Sweets halwa in Tirunelveli is too good. Once I bought one packet – half Kg and went to meet a client in Nagarkovil. When I took my diary out, he noticed the halwa packet and gave an expectant look. I hesitantly asked for courtesy – Do you want it? That was it, it was in his hands before I could realize what was happening! Damn. To this day, I regret having missed it(I intended to eat the entire half Kg myself!)

    Destination Infinity

  16. Destination infinity
    To this day, I regret having missed it
    He he … interesting anecdote. People do love good things. It was a sign for you to share good things with people. I guess you could always buy another batch of half kg halwa and eat it all yourself πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

