Posted in General

Random Access Memories

Do not worry, this is not a highly technical article on RAMs and their size and bus speed (Which is not the speed of bus number 23c or 47A). It is a Tag on memories from Usha at Agelessbonding.

Memory has always fascinated me. A Human brain can hold so much information that no discounted online retail store’s Tera Byte hard disks can hold. Yet sometimes it is hard to remember what you ate yesterday for lunch. We tend to remember things in the order of significance to ourselves and those that are important to us. I still remember my first bicycle that I used to go around Madurai but I may or may not remember by friend’s first bicycle. So here goes the tag:

MY OLDEST MEMORY:

I remember my Kindergarten days. It was a small home based school by the street corner of our house. My Paternal Grandma used to take me to that school everyday and she would bring me home for lunch. I remember the summer days when I used to have Mangoes with lunch. There was a test that we were taking once and I was using a pencil to write. I pressed the pencil so hard that the lead broke and I was trying to write with the small left over lead really hard. I have no idea how I did in that test and how many marks I scored.

TEN YEARS AGO:

Warning: Alcohol consumption is injurious to health.

I was in my Final year of College. I had a Job in hand from the campus interview and this was when I had tasted my first beer. It was awful, I had to brush my teeth to get rid of the stink from my mouth. We used to go for treats every time one of our friends were selected in a Job interview. When the cash flow is high we used to go to the Pub at Residency inn (Tinto it is called I think) and when the cash flow is really low, we would go to a local wine shop called Om Sakthi Wines and have fun at the Besant Nagar Beach. Me and my best friend didn’t drink. We kept accounts and gobbled up the side dishes.

MY FIRST THOUGHT IN THE MORNING:

Thank God it’s Friday

IF YOU BUILT A TIME CAPSULE WHAT WOULD IT CONTAIN:

iMac, iPod, Universal Power adapter and Some amount of Hope that where I go, there will be an Internet Connection and my iMac will not be too outdated.

THIS YEAR:

It has been a hectic year so far, but I have enjoyed every bit of it with my family.

14 YEARS FROM NOW:

I would be about 44 years old and I don’t care where I would be or What I would work on or How much I would be earning, but as long as I lead a simple peaceful life with my family, that is all I need.

Update: In a memory tag, I forgot to tag at the end of the post. I will leave it open for anyone to take it. I am not tagging any one in particular yet I don’t mean to tag every one. You take the tag if you like.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

26 thoughts on “Random Access Memories

  1. Curdriceaurora
    Why are all local wine shops named Om Sakthi Wines?
    Just to denote that local wine can give Sakthi(power). He he … really not sure. I think a lot of them just traditionally use the names of god.

    Reema
    Glad you agree with me. Ultimately peace is what I seek.

    A-kay
    You do love your iMac. Reminds me of my husband!
    You got a Mac too? That is cool. Mac lovers?

    amen to your response for β€œ14 years from now”
    Thank you and I am glad.

  2. “Thank God it’s Friday” Same pinch!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    “I would be about 44 years old and I don’t care where I would be or What I would work on or How much I would be earning, but as long as I lead a simple peaceful life with my family, that is all I need.”

    Chances of you getting hypertension at a early age is minimal!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ keep the attitude up! πŸ™‚

  3. Ok, after seeing everyone doing tags left,right and center, I realize it is more about getting to know you better than anything else. So I am going to tag and get tagged from now onwards. πŸ™‚ Nice tag. πŸ™‚

  4. like your time capsule πŸ™‚
    And like some before me, amen to the simple, peaceful life.
    I did the oldest memory; thankfully it did not contain the following subs πŸ™‚

  5. Now Beer is something I could never understand! πŸ™‚
    And I loved your Oldest memory. I think we should have tags just for “Oldest memories”. πŸ™‚

  6. Nice tag Dinesh. You seem to be a contended man.//I don’t care where I would be or What I would work on or How much I would be earning, but as long as I lead a simple peaceful life with my family// 14 years is a long time, I hope and pray you stay as contended even then.

  7. Maxdavinci
    all wine shops are named after gods!
    Man seeks divine intervention in almost everything.

    but then nobody buys wine in a wine shop, it’s always some haywards5000 or royal challenge!
    True. Wine is really a misnomer. It is really pronounced as Woyin. As a kid I actually thought it was a Tamil word.

    Sakhi
    Same pinch!!
    Ouch. You pinched too hard πŸ™‚

    Chances of you getting hypertension at a early age is minimal!!
    I will believe that, as it is coming from a doctor πŸ™‚

    Nita
    I had no idea you were only 30 years old!!
    I had no idea I would be 30 years old, until I became 30. 30 is a milestone, this is where you are crossing the border.

  8. Vishesh
    oh uncle!
    Yes Beta!

    Anniyan
    I realize it is more about getting to know you better than anything else.
    Exactly. You reveal who you are, yet people who know you by the blog, only know that much. It is an identity paradox.

    Nice tag.
    Thank you, You are welcome to do this tag if you like.

    Sindhu
    Nice entry. It’s fun to take a walk down memory lane sometimes.
    Thank you, yes it is a feel good thing πŸ™‚

    P.S – Yay for Macs! I wouldn’t give up my Mac for anything either.
    I would give up my Mac only for the latest Mac.

  9. Nikhil
    Very very nicely done tag, sir!
    Thank you. I didn’t know I was going to be knighted (“sir!”), after I revealed my age!

    I like the way you’ve killed the tag skillfully!
    I haven’t killed it. It is just not alive πŸ™‚

    Apar
    like your time capsule
    That Time capsule is actually a bit dirty. I like the contents of it though πŸ˜‰ Kidding …

    And like some before me, amen to the simple, peaceful life.
    I am glad.

    Arvind
    even i had to brush after i tasted whiskey and beer for the first time
    It is only the first time that everyone does that I guess πŸ™‚

  10. Amit
    Now Beer is something I could never understand!
    I never tried to understand it, that’s why it stunk the first time.

    And I loved your Oldest memory. I think we should have tags just for β€œOldest memories”.
    Thank you and good idea!

    Pr3rna
    Nice tag Dinesh.
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    You seem to be a contended man.
    Mind is tricky. When you start wanting more, you never feel content, but when you stop wanting more, you will start feeling content.

    14 years is a long time, I hope and pray you stay as contended even then.
    Thank you πŸ™‚ I will try to be πŸ™‚

    Chutney
    I liked this post. It was really really genuine.
    Thank you πŸ™‚ and Welcome to my blog.

  11. Very nice post πŸ˜€ The beer-brushing incident was too good! It’s interesting to note how we tend to remember only the better moments in life, and often block out the bad times. I guess it’s nature’s way of telling us that life has been good πŸ™‚

  12. Anniyan
    I have done the tag and continued it. It still lives! πŸ˜€
    I have read it. Thanks for bringing it back to life.

    Sandeep
    hey lovely write up Dinesh.. πŸ™‚
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Shivya
    Very nice post
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    It’s interesting to note how we tend to remember only the better moments in life, and often block out the bad times.
    It is always interesting to see how our brain works!

    I guess it’s nature’s way of telling us that life has been good
    We like it being good.

Leave a Reply

