Posted in General

An Opinion on God

Everyone has an opinion on God. Everyone who has a blog, at some point tends to write their own opinion about the being called God. A post at Paul’s blog made me write my opinion on what I think about the phenomenon of God. I am posting my idea of God here.

God has been equated to a super natural being so far by Humans (including Atheists, because Atheists use the God in the same meaning as theists, for argument).

If at all there is a being called God, and if at all the universe is created by God, there was no intelligent design behind it. God probably did a one time random work of art called the universe or a river of multiple universes and probably stands back and enjoys the work of art. It is like a painter making a unique painting, standing back and enjoying it for as long as he/she likes. The painter is not a God here, he is an artist who splashed the colors and whatever happens later he doesn’t interfere with it. He doesn’t sit down to alter the finished painting, but he rather moves on to the next. A Random work of art can also happen by accident. When you accidentally spill a plate of pasta on the floor, it can look like an art. My Tamil readers will be able to relate this to a scene in the movie – “Anbe Sivam”(which means Love is God). So God might have ended up creating the Universe while he/she dropped his/her lunch on the floor. This can only mean that the existence or non-existence of God doesn’t matter to our own existence.

Imagining this or Accepting this as a fact or trying to prove it right/wrong does not matter.

Because whenever we try to prove it either way, we only end up in an argument and cause division among ourselves. Whatever thoughts we have, we shouldn’t force it on others. This means that you do not have to take whatever I say, You are free to have your own opinion and I will not sit and argue with it. My friend who had read J.Krishnamurthi, used to say the same thing. Not forcing one’s opinion on others is also a principle of Zen.

What matters is we are intelligent beings born out of the universe like how a flower or fruit blooms out of a plant. We are part of this work of art and that is the connection that needs to be realized between us and the Universe we live in. We certainly did not jump out of nowhere into this Universe. Since we belong to this work of art, to us there is no relevant external divinity. The Universe itself is God(You have to change the definition of God here) and since we are born out of it and connected to it, we have God in ourselves. I have another post that will illustrate this. It is an idea that I read in a book.

Due to this reason, I really do not like to describe the term God with the dictionary meaning of “God being an Omnipotent being”. These are all not entirely my thoughts. They are just some thoughts read, understood and inferred from few books and websites. I do not claim to know everything on the topic and I do not mean to say I am completely right. I keep an open mind to accept new thoughts and correct myself once a while. I also do not believe in standing one way or another and arguing. This doesnโ€™t make me an agnostic either. I could use a new category to describe myself, but I am really not interested in forming another new school of thought, because any form of cult only separates us from each other, than unite us.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

40 thoughts on “An Opinion on God

  1. While I differ with your views on God, his existence and his role in creation, I do understand your view and respect it. This is a topic that is close to my heart and I have traveled the journey of not being a believer to believing in a super-natural power to believing in God completely, and so I understand that to each of us the definition of God differs, and as individuals we need to go through the journey to understand and to become a believer or not, as the case may be. Your thoughts are very well articulated.

  2. You can actually start a new school of thought… whats the harm?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyways i sometimes get confused with my own ideas of GOD sometimes i believe of somebody being there who controlls the whole show and sometimes when i see the goons get away with whatever they do and enjoy life without any problem and the good people suffer, then i question HIS / HER (:D ) existence!!

    I am a confused “aatmaa”!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. A very nice analogy. A work of art! ๐Ÿ™‚ However, I believe man created god to explain everything that could not be explained by him. Example is the Aurora Borealis. It is the Northern Lights phenomenon. Man could not explain it and created the “Valkyries”. The Valkyrie is a super natural being in the Norse mythology. The Norse are the barbarian who occupied most parts of Greenland eons ago. See where I am going? Then when science developed enough to know why the phenomenon occurs, it was considered a useless myth.

  4. well the need to understand God exists because,we need to understand the world around us.Imagine if you were brought up without knowing the idea of God.What will your view of life be?You of course wouldn’t just go on living,for man essentially a being with the ability to think.

    Art is the way a person perceives the world.And if we are an art of God,then we need to understand ourselves first.

    Of course you know my views on God-http://visheshunni.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/god/

  5. hmmm God has been a part of constant debate between me and my brother, which has not come to any conclusion yet and does not look like will come to any conclusion in near future.

    So nice of you, not to force your view on some1, hopefully it is not just restricted to God, and you follow it in other aspects of Life ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    I guess you will like reading the book ‘God’s debris’.

  6. Wonderful post! I believe in the power of faith and maybe by invoking Him/Her I invoke the power within me, the inner strength. I just dont believe in being specified a particular way to express my faith and being forced to express my faith.

  7. For all you god-believers and agnostics, here is a sure and confident answer: There IS a god. And it is here. It is I.
    If you can believe that, you can then rest assured about everything else.

  8. This post of yours forced me to come & comment here. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I respect and understand your viewpoint. Aptly put. Each one of us has a different meaning of God and we can not & should not try to change it. We can only refine our own definition.
    For me there is a supernatural power ( I don’t know what to call it) who has created us and that’s it.

    Whether we have created God for our sake or God has created us is certainly thought provoking.

    Good post.

  9. An interesting viewpoint, Dinesh. And a very rational and humble take.

    Like you, I belong to an entirely different category on this. To me, God – if it all – is not an invisible “being” per se, but a force to remind humans there are factors other than their mighty selves that affect the ay things work – no different from what we call luck, unforeseen circumstances and Murphy. It’s a way of humbling the proud, giving courage to a crushed spirit, hope to those in despair. Unfortunately, I can’t get myself to say “giving justice to the wronged.” I haven’t really seen that happen, outside the movies.

    Enough said. Nice post – you should do more opinion pieces.

    -g

  10. A-kay
    I do understand your view and respect it.
    Thank you and that is what we should do to one another.

    so I understand that to each of us the definition of God differs
    Exactly, and it is ok to be so. We should just not try to force our opinion on others. We can simply let them know, it is for them to take or not take.

    and as individuals we need to go through the journey
    Yes, this is one topic where each and everyone has to think through themselves.

    Your thoughts are very well articulated.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maxdavinci
    haha nice, loved the anbe-sivam reference!
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Kamal has always played with this topic in his movies.

    Sagarone
    Well, welcome to the gang!
    There is only one gang called living things in this Universe. I am already in it.

    Great post.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sketched out
    I like the way your mind works.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I like to work my mind!

    Enjoyed your very refreshing and articulate post.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also, thanks so much for stopping by my blog and your very nice comment!
    Your blog is great. I have subscribed to it. Thank you for stopping by my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I really appreciate it.

  11. Nita
    I like the way you have described God. And your humility as well.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sakhi
    You can actually start a new school of thoughtโ€ฆ whats the harm?? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Because it will enrage the members of other school of thoughts. I will get members from them and they are not going to be happy about it. They will end up hurting innocent people. I do not want that.

    Anyways i sometimes get confused with my own ideas of GOD
    It is ok to be so, as long as you keep thinking about it and you find out the solution yourself in the end. Confusion is merely a state before Clarity.

    Anniyan
    A very nice analogy. A work of art!
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I believe man created god
    Exactly, Man created God in his own way, not the way God probably is. You can tell it from the dictionary.

    Example is the Aurora Borealis.
    Good info on that. Thanks for sharing it!

    Vishesh
    well the need to understand God exists because,we need to understand the world around

    us.
    We can either start with realizing God or start with understanding the world. It is just in the way we think.

    without knowing the idea of God.What will your view of life be?
    Very different. It depends on where we live.

    You of course wouldnโ€™t just go on living,for man essentially a being with the ability to think.
    Yes, Man has to think. Just like how Water flows naturally, we are gifted with thinking ability naturally and we should do that.

    if we are an art of God,then we need to understand ourselves first.
    Exactly, the answers are within us. So one has to find it for oneself.

  12. Raji
    Your view on not forcing on anyone to do anything – I totally salute it
    If we follow this, we can solve most of the world’s problems. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Another great
    Thank you

    Sharad
    God has been a part of constant debate between me and my brother, which has not come to

    any conclusion yet
    The best thing to do is not debate and let it go. Because what matters to you is your own opinion and keeping an open mind for new ideas.

    So nice of you, not to force your view on some1
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    you follow it in other aspects of Life
    It is tough to do that. But I try to follow as much as I can.

    I guess you will like reading the book โ€˜Godโ€™s debrisโ€™
    I will give it a try.

    Reema
    Wonderful post!
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I believe in the power of faith and maybe by invoking Him/Her I invoke the power within me, the inner strength.
    I respect your view.

    I just dont believe in being specified a particular way to express my faith and being forced to express my faith.
    That is the original form of faith. Believing with no rules attached.

    Rambodoc
    For all you god-believers and agnostics, here is a sure and confident answer: There IS a

    god. And it is here. It is I.
    Sure doc, You are a Doctor, you cure people. You must be a God. If not a God, you must be the messenger or a Secretary or atleast a Head Clerk ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Cuckoo
    I respect and understand your viewpoint.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Each one of us has a different meaning of God and we can not & should not try to change it.
    That is true. One’s idea of God needs to be changed only by oneself, not by forcing from others.

    Whether we have created God for our sake or God has created us is certainly thought provoking.
    and because what we think about God may be entirely different from What God really is, If God exists. I respect your views on God.

    Good post.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reema
    @Rdoc Seeing your interest in women, I would say you are Lord Indra.
    LOL, that is definitely true!

    God is a female! definitely
    I don’t know about that, but I definitely think Women are Goddesses.

    Praveen
    Oh man! so many posts to catch up!!! Will come back soon.
    Take your time. I won’t post another atleast until Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gauri
    An interesting viewpoint, Dinesh. And a very rational and humble take.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like you, I belong to an entirely different category on this.
    I respect your stand.

    To me, God – if it all – is not an invisible โ€œbeingโ€ per se, but a force to remind humans there are factors other than their mighty selves that affect the ay things work
    Interesting. Aligns very close to my thought. The world around us itself simply humbles our existence. I mean just look at the Sky!

    Itโ€™s a way of humbling the proud, giving courage to a crushed spirit, hope to those in despair.
    I like this thought. It certainly affects us psychologically.

    Unfortunately, I canโ€™t get myself to say โ€œgiving justice to the wronged.โ€
    Dharma always wins in the end. One shouldn’t worry about wrong doers getting punished or not, One should only make sure they are in the right path making right choices.

    you should do more opinion pieces.
    I will try to. I just did God, I will work my way downwards. Is it Universe or Earth?

  14. I agree with your conclusion – each one of us is free to believe in the existence or otherwise of God and why not keep our opinion to ourselves and live and let be in stead of trying to convert everyone to our POV.
    I liked what Kamal said in the end in dasavataram:
    Kadavul Illennu sollalai. Irunda nalla irukumnu sonnen

  15. I think we accept God as an easy way of relinquishing control over our own lives, or even our world. Yet, I believe in him, because how else do you explain the miracles that happen everyday?

  16. Sometimes I do feel that we happened just by chance, like when you throw the dice, there is always a chance of getting a 5.
    But, then some things happen which make you believe in a supreme power who is in control. There is something called Destiny which is definitely not our creation.

  17. “……The Universe itself is God(You have to change the definition of God here) and since we are born out of it and connected to it, we have God in ourselves.”..

    I am one of the many people to trying to understand the existence of GOD …..

    I think that with this statement above … you are supporting the ADVAITHA philosophy that says… ‘aham brahmasmi’ or ‘i am divine’……

    “….God probably did a one time random work of art called the universe or a river of multiple universes and probably stands back and enjoys the work of art.”
    I also think that you yourself are still confused and are searching within urself about questions around the almighty !

    I different school of thought and I for one (like you) would welcome all schools of thought and like to read them …..

    PS: I was led to this post by anniyan ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. hi, my frst time here via Sharad’s, nice thought provoking post ๐Ÿ™‚

    When u say “we have God in ourselves…” I can relate to that and as Sandhya Bhargava points out the idea has been there among Hindus. I remember as a child, if I kicked at anything/being, was made to immdtly do a pranam, the ans to my innocent “why” was this: God resides in ever atom of this universe!But am not sure if it is a Vaishnava (both my Grandmothers belonged to that sect, but two different ones) thing. Later, in Catholic convents too, heard the same, “God is in YOU. Take care of yourself”.

    @ Rambodoc, yes, you ARE God, so am I and everybodyelse around me – Indra??? ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Shivya, indeed when we can consistently believe in this idea is when we would no longer want to run away from responsibilities or relinquish them.

  19. “the prominent Mahavakyas are: praj~nAnaM brahma (Consciousness is Brahman) in the Aitareya Upanishad of the Rig-Veda, aham brahmAsmi (I am Brahman) in the Brihadaranyaka Upanishad of the Yajur-Veda, tat tvam asi (That thou art) in the Chandogya Upanishad of the Sama Veda and ayam Atma brahma (this Atman is Brahman) in the Mandukya Upanishad of the Atharva Veda.

    The first statement, Consciousness is Brahman, explains the true nature of Brahman. The second statement is the self assessment from the seeker when he/she recognizes his/her true divine nature. In the third statement, the realized teacher informs (asserts) โ€“ “You are that Supreme Brahman.” The last is the statement of practice or formula for the seeker to discover the Oneness of Atman and the Brahman.”

  20. Usha
    each one of us is free to believe in the existence or otherwise of God
    Exactly, that is the true freedom. Freedom of having one’s own opinion.

    live and let be in stead of trying to convert everyone to our POV
    If it was so from the beginning, the world would have been much more peaceful and not “piece”ful like how it is now.

    Arvind
    god is indeed a manโ€™s creation.
    That is the root of the problem. Man created God in the way he thought and wanted to thrust his ego on everyone else.

    Shivya
    I think we accept God as an easy way of relinquishing control over our own lives
    That is the point of view a lot of them have. We can leave it to God.

    Yet, I believe in him, because how else do you explain the miracles that happen everyday?
    I respect your opinion on this.

  21. Amit
    Sometimes I do feel that we happened just by chance, like when you throw the dice, there is always a chance of getting a 5
    It is a similar thought that Einstein had. God playing dice.

    But, then some things happen which make you believe in a supreme power who is in control.
    I wish it happens a lot more than it does.

    There is something called Destiny which is definitely not our creation.
    We all seek our destiny in the future but we miss the one that is there right now in the present.

    Sandhya
    Welcome to my blog. I appreciate your comment on this post.
    I am one of the many people to trying to understand the existence of GOD โ€ฆ..
    Cool! Understanding the existence of God has to be one’s own journey, everyone has to go through it by themselves, atleast as of now.

    I think that with this statement above โ€ฆ you are supporting the ADVAITHA philosophy that saysโ€ฆ โ€˜aham brahmasmiโ€™ or โ€˜i am divineโ€™
    I haven’t read about it. I would rather say I am part of the divine or divine is within myself, than “I am divine”.

    I also think that you yourself are still confused and are searching within urself about questions around the almighty
    Yup! I am still searching myself.

    I for one (like you) would welcome all schools of thought and like to read them โ€ฆ..
    Exactly, there is no reason to leave out something if it is going to offer you some greater understanding.

    Rolling
    Welcome to my blog. I appreciate your comments.
    nice thought provoking post ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you.

    When u say โ€œwe have God in ourselvesโ€ฆโ€ I can relate to that and as Sandhya Bhargava points out the idea has been there among Hindus.
    Yes, I have read that in a book as the basis of Vedanta, in the early form of Hinduism. Not Hinduism as it exists today.

    God resides in ever atom of this universe!
    If the whole universe is the God, then everything in it is.

    Thank you for an insightful comment from the Upanishads. I have to read those myself someday.

  22. That is a very interesting notion of god, Dinesh. I find it more plausible than most other notions. I also like the notion that god can be thought of as an emergent property of the universe, just as the mind can be thought of as an emergent property of the brain.

  23. Paul
    That is a very interesting notion of god
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also like the notion that god can be thought of as an emergent property of the universe
    That is sort of my thought too, because when everything in the universe evolves, why not God.

  24. I don’t feel everything in this universe is a random assimilation of things. Just like how Darwin comes up with an automatic theory of evolution. The events and beings are so complex and seemfully interconnected that we cannot negate the concept of destiny. If there is a God, controlling destiny, it should be a very hard work for him. Why should some one or some thing crave for so much control, unless he is a paranoid? Or is it just organized randomness which cannot be sensed by our existing senses and he alone has the 100th Sense to make sense of all this?

    Destination Infinity

  25. the meaning and purpose of god changes with people. But, the underlying thing is the same – the faith in him. Some expect him to do something, some do somethings to please him. Some work without thinking of him and some work always with his thought. The different forms of having faith in God differs with each set of people, even if u created one of your own. By thinking God is an artist, and that the universe was his random work of art, u’ve faith in the form of acceptance in him that whatever he has done is good, and even if its not, it cannot be changed.
    Like u said abt the spilled pasta, the pasta cannot do anything of it own accord about its state, and it’ll remain so, unless the one who spilled it wants to do something abt it.
    Now, I’m considering weaving my thoughts about God, into a presentable fabric of a theory. Dunno if it can come out as good as this! ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Destination Infinity
    I donโ€™t feel everything in this universe is a random assimilation of things.
    It is organized randomness or random organization, but one cannot eliminate the randomness either way.

    The events and beings are so complex and seemfully interconnected that we cannot negate the concept of destiny.
    That is true, we are all interconnected and we are all dependent on each other, one way or the other.

    If there is a God, controlling destiny, it should be a very hard work for him.
    Which is why I think that he made a random creation and let the universe to exist by itself and determine it’s own destiny.

    Why should some one or some thing crave for so much control, unless he is a paranoid?
    I don’t think there is a supreme control, the Universe itself is supreme and it controls itself, self contained.

    Or is it just organized randomness which cannot be sensed by our existing senses and he alone has the 100th Sense to make sense of all this?
    Nice thought!

    Su
    the meaning and purpose of god changes with people.
    True, and that’s why we shouldn’t interfere with people’s thoughts on this.

    But, the underlying thing is the same – the faith in him.
    Right, faith or lack of faith.

    uโ€™ve faith in the form of acceptance in him that whatever he has done is good, and even if its not, it cannot be changed.
    Yes, There is acceptance. But my view is that it doesn’t matter.

    the pasta cannot do anything of it own accord about its state
    Why not? If the Pasta is made using probiotic ingredients it can change it course and state. This is the case of our universe, we have living things capable of changing its state.

    Dunno if it can come out as good as this! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you, but comparing yours if it is as good as mine, doesn’t matter either. There is no competition.

  27. I agree with you about the pasta discussion. It must have slipped past my mind.
    As for comparison, i was just wondering about the clarity of expression i could bring out, because its quite difficult to deal with a sensitive matter.

  28. I recently converted at my mind’s level to an Atheist. So according to me I don’t believe in an entity called god. Everything can be explained. Though it might take some time to explain many things, it will definitely happen. I will write a post on my conversion in the near future. Most probably after I finish my exams. And after I finish my story. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your feedback on my story. It is one of the very few I value. ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Su
    its quite difficult to deal with a sensitive matter.
    The sensitivity of the matter is in the difficulty to deal with.

    Anniyan
    I recently converted at my mindโ€™s level to an Atheist.
    I respect your opinion.

    Though it might take some time to explain many things, it will definitely happen.
    You are now having faith in something else. It is still a form of faith.

    Thanks for your feedback on my story. It is one of the very few I value.
    You are welcome. It is usually a good idea to write simple stories that can reach a wider audience.

    Radha
    it s true! i never noticed it, they all end up writing about God, sounds really cool
    Don’t they! Somehow God is needed, even if you want to explain if God doesn’t exist. Welcome to my blog.

    actually it would be better if nobody would have any opinion about that
    That is absolutely true. We could have avoided a lot of wars that way.

Leave a Reply

