Posted in Anecdotes, Family, Humour

Dressing with Ghaghra Choli

Consider the following statements:

1. It looks cute when a full sized adult dress is miniaturized for 1 to 2 years old and so a Ghaghra Choli for 2 years old is very cute.

2. When you dress for a party it takes the longest for the Woman in the family to get dressed.

These 2 points imply that the father in the family gets to dress his 23 months old daughter for the party. It takes longer for a Man to dress his toddler daughter than for this wife to dress herself up for the party. The challenge is not in just dressing but tackling the active toddler and then dressing at the same time. It is like trying to dress your bike in a pyjama while you are riding it with both the hands and the bike going in a random direction no matter how you hold the handle bar.

So It was a day of one of the parties at our friend’s place and I took the mission of dressing the daughter.

First, Undressing the daughter is very easy. You just have to pull the top upwards and in 3 seconds you will find the kid 3 meters away from you while you will be holding the top inside out. Same goes to the bottom, except she would have only reached 2 meters for that. After that you will need to perform 3 somersaults to change the diaper (perform 4 if you have the intentions of saving the nearby objects from being vandalised).

Now comes the tricky part. I made a few attempts at getting her dressed and here they are:

1. Is the top part called Choli? Assuming it is, I took the choli and put it on her left hand and then I put the other end on her right hand. During this time I didn’t notice that she took off her left hand from the choli. I went back and put the choli on the left hand and she cleverly undid the right side. The cycle continued for a while until I decided to go attempt 2.

2. Knowing that putting it one hand at a time is difficult, I tried to put it on both the hands from the front side at the same time. She bent down, got under me and ran away into the other room while I was sitting there with my both hands partially inserted into the choli. It took me a while to chase her down and clamp her to my lap before trying attempt 3.

3. This time I was very determined. I wasn’t budging, I wanted to be the one in control. I wanted to show her who the daddy is. So after a brief bit of wrestling with a combination of above 2 attempts, I finally got the choli on her and started to tie the knot. The knot was tied and She was dressed. There all done and neat. That’s when my wife came and looked at me with a stare.

Wife: What’s this?

Me: I dressed her, what else!

Wife: Is this how you dress Ghagra choli?

Me: I haven’t dressed myself in Ghagra choli in any way possible. So I don’t know.

Wife: Funny ha! Why is the knot on her front?

I didn’t realize as my daughter was turning and I was turning around to get into position I was off by 180 degrees. I had tied the knots that come on the back, to her front.

Me: Oh! You are right, was that supposed to be tied backwards. Let me try again.

Wife: (walking away) and Put her bottoms will you!

That must be the Ghagra I forgot and that was why I was wondering why the Ghagra looked exactly like her diaper. After a brief hunt, I found the Ghaghra barely hanging off from the ironing board.

All is well that ends well. I was finally able to dress her up for the party and we were ready to go. Just one thing was left. My wife adjusted the bottom by rotating it for 180 degrees.

Wife: “This is the correct side”

Me: How would I know? It looks the same on all sides!

Wife: Watch the label on the inside. It is the same way you wear your Banian.

Now we were definitely ready to go for the party, except I have to put the daughter’s shoes on! And there I went again!

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

34 thoughts on “Dressing with Ghaghra Choli

  1. wow! It is fun dressing a toddler πŸ˜€ one in the terrible twos category! πŸ™‚ At least it would have been easier putting on the ghagra…think about battling with trousers or pyjamas…Get one leg in properly…and try getting the other one right! I remember getting clothes as gift for A. I wondered why he looked and walked weird! Then found that he had (I refuse to accept I did that to him!) put both legs into the same hole of his trouser!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh my! oh my! this one will sure pass down ur mind as one of the most memorable moments ever! πŸ™‚ aaah! i wish to grow up faster to dress up my daughter. πŸ˜› and mind you, I’ll do 4 somersaults, than having my mom chase me around πŸ˜€

  3. I never get bored of reading your posts. πŸ™‚ I have the same adventure when I have to dress my brother’s kid. πŸ˜€ He is one fiesty little rascal. πŸ™‚ Ah… Kids. πŸ™‚

  4. It is like trying to dress your bike in a pyjama while you are riding it with both the hands and the bike going in a random direction no matter how you hold the handle bar.
    RoFL …
    I was imagining yu dressing yur kid and ur bike too πŸ˜€

  5. I second Nikhil’s comment. It is equally important to practise unravelling the mysteries of ghagras and cholis when the concerned lady is trying to move out of your reach. Please try this at your next office party and let us know the results thereof. It will make for an even more funny post, though this one was up there!

  6. Apar
    wow! It is fun dressing a toddler
    I think it is more like “Funny” than just fun πŸ™‚

    At least it would have been easier putting on the ghagra…
    How would I know if it is easier πŸ™‚

    I wondered why he looked and walked weird! Then found that he had (I refuse to accept I did
    that to him!) put both legs into the same hole of his trouser!!! πŸ™‚

    Exactly, I always wondered why there was a leg shaped tubular cloth hanging off from the waist,
    That was where the second leg was supposed to go in. Oh well!

    Reema
    Awwww….soo cute. Wish u would post a snap of her in ghaghra choli.
    Thank you. If you take my profile picture and do some morphing and photoshopping, you will definitely have the photo of my daughter. Only tough part to morph could be the mustache. If you can find how to shave that off in the photo, we are good.

    Su
    Oh my! oh my! this one will sure pass down ur mind as one of the most memorable moments ever!
    Yes, definitely and I have persisted in WordPress.

    aaah! i wish to grow up faster to dress up my daughter
    It doesn’t matter if you grow up faster or slower, dressing a toddler will pose with same set of challenges.

    I’ll do 4 somersaults, than having my mom chase me around
    You are right, it is difficult to chase while somersaulting.

  7. Rads
    if it’s any consolation, once she starts talking the wife won’t have to correct you
    I don’t know about that, but if she starts talking and correcting my wife, I will be in a corner

    LMAO.

    Amreekandesi
    Another very funny post. Keep them coming!
    Thank you. Sure, I have to dress up my daughter everyday, one way or the other.

    Vishesh – Thank you πŸ™‚

    Anniyan
    I never get bored of reading your posts.
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    I have the same adventure when I have to dress my brother’s kid.
    All the kids are against what the adults try to do/say to them πŸ™‚

    Kiran
    funny post πŸ™‚ so adorable!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    how about posting some pictures?
    Please see the response to Reema above πŸ™‚

  8. Arvind
    I was imagining yu dressing yur kid and ur bike too
    At the same time? Boy that will be the toughest job in the world. To dress the daughter and the
    bike at the same time.

    Nikhil
    Just goes to show how important it is for men to dress up in women’s clothing every now and
    then!

    Wait, are you trying to justify something you do πŸ™‚ Just kidding … πŸ™‚

    Sakhi
    i am sure all the efforts were worth the hassel once you saw her completely dressed!!
    Oh that’s true.

    Chirag
    Still smiling will save this for future, just in case. πŸ™‚
    Just in case, you have to dress your kid πŸ™‚ ?

    Rambodoc
    It is equally important to practise unravelling the mysteries of ghagras and cholis when the concerned lady is trying to move out of your reach.
    You mean like use a long stick or something to reach the knot?

    Please try this at your next office party and let us know the results thereof.
    If I try this in my next office party, I will have to find a new office next time πŸ™‚

    It will make for an even more funny post, though this one was up there!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Anshul
    I thought by the end, after all that wrestling, you would be the one in ghagra and choli.
    You know I almost did, But I showed the same traits as my daughter (DNA you see), that I escaped that πŸ™‚

  9. LMAO.. although this isn’t new to me since i do these things to my nephew every now and then the funny part of it is how he/she reacts in different sitations. And ofcourse the gender matters these days..

    At one instances he runs around the house being naked or even half naked dodging me despite all the jumps Somersault and in other instances he brings the dress and asks me to change the dress simply cause he doesn’t likes the one that is on him…
    he is so mischievous and naughty , the trouble and all the chatter that takes place makes you smirk at any situation one is in .. its always one good stress buster for me …

  10. Amit
    I was expecting a cute photo at the end. 😦
    Sure, I should have posted a cute photo of a random baby :), you just wanted a cute photo right, not any particular person πŸ™‚

    Does she apply makeup too?
    Sure, If given a chance she can smear Kajal and Kum kum or even chicken masala, all over her face. (and rubs it on my T-shirt).

    Children now a days are too fast. πŸ™‚
    You bet, she rubs it on my T-Shirt, very fast!

    Maxdavinci
    your tweets and blogs are slowly becoming a dummies guide to daughters!
    The only thing is the tweets and blogs are written by a dummy himself.

    Remya
    Thank you πŸ™‚ Welcome to my blog.

  11. Whacky
    LMAO..
    You seem to be Laughing your ass off every time, you should try the Rolling on the floor one.

    i do these things to my nephew every now and then the funny part
    Right, you do it now and then it becomes funny!

    At one instances he runs around the house being naked or even half naked
    You are being pessimistic here. He should be running half dressed, I suppose πŸ™‚

    he brings the dress and asks me to change the dress
    Really, wow. I don’t believe that he comes and asks to change your dress.

    simply cause he doesn’t likes the one that is on him…
    Oh I see, I should read the sentences fully before I reply πŸ™‚

    Aparna G
    Practice makes a man perfect’, i say!
    I say, even the perfect man needs Practice.

    Nikhil
    That was a good effort.
    That is an understatement. It was a Herculean effort to dress her up.

    Kiran
    There is an award waiting for you here
    Thank you, make sure it is waiting in a comfortable waiting hall πŸ™‚

  12. It seems that you have one energizer bunny in the house. Admit it, isn’t it great fun dressing up a two year old girl? it was great fun reading about it. πŸ™‚

  13. Chiranjib
    Daddy losing out to a daughter
    Daddy never wins against daughter πŸ™‚

    Pr3rna
    Once the kids grow up these beautiful times never return.Very cute post.
    Thank you. I hope I keep my blog till that time and show it to my daughter. She might say, this is weird dad!

    Rahul
    Cute n Funny
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    HowRu Sir?
    I am good, been vacationing a bit. Howz u? Happy New year!

    Usha
    It seems that you have one energizer bunny in the house.
    Yes, A rechargeable one with infinite capacity.

    isn’t it great fun dressing up a two year old girl?
    For me or for others?

    it was great fun reading about it.
    See, that’s what I meant. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Sharad
    Had a hearty laugh at ur expense…
    Yes, I did spend some money on that dress after all. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Cuckoo
    Good going girl !! Now don’t hit me for encouraging her.
    She is self motivated. Always on the run! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

