Posted in Family, Humour

Worries

Everyone worries about something at some point. It is just that “the some point”, is very different for Men and Women. Men and Women worry about things at different points and believe me, that makes all the difference. Here are a few case studies:

CASE 1: THE LAUNDRY

A Woman buys a Churidhar. She starts worrying about how to wash it right from the time she buys it. The dress is beautifully worked, but the only problem is it can only be hand washed. So, she is worried that she should remember not to machine wash it.

Now, the Man of the house always likes to impress the Woman for various reasons. So he rolls up his sleeves and tries to do the laundry himself, in the pretext of providing a surprise help. But the problem is he does a machine wash. Until this point, the man is not worried.

Man: “Honey, I’ve washed all your clothes!”

Woman: “Oh, that’s so sweet! wait … what about that churidhar?”

Man: “That too Honey, and you are very welcome”

Woman: “Oh my God, you can’t machine wash it!”

Here is when the Man starts worrying and prays to every god in every religion, to save that one churidhar from the evil effects of the washing machine.

CASE 2: THE COOKING

A Woman knows how to cook, because she is worried about what to cook even before she enters the kitchen. All your trips to Grocery stores to buy vegetables and stuff is because a Woman is worried 7 days in advance, as to what needs to be cooked the whole of next week. She doesn’t write that down, but she keeps them in mind. (Why else you think you are sent to the Grocery store? To stuff the Kitchen shelves and fridge for decoration?)

So if she says she is going to cook “Venn Pongal” and “Sambar” today, it means that she has already worried about buying all of its ingredients, 7 days in advance. This is exactly why you are having that dish today. Not because of some magic.

A Man on the other hand, only thinks that he knows how to cook, but he is far from it. The problem is the Man assumes that there are house elves that take care of putting the items in Kitchen shelves and fridge. So, he sets out to surprise his wife by trying to make a simple dish – Pasta. He promptly lets the water to boil and as soon as it reaches slightly above boiling point (noted from excessive smokey water vapour from the container) he begins looking for the pasta.

This is when the Man starts worrying. Too bad, he needs to leave it to luck to find the pasta and even if he finds the pasta, it is usually the case that there is no pasta sauce in the house 99% of the time. The legend has it that this is how Man learnt to make boiling water.

CASE 3: CLEANING

A Woman is worried about disorderliness, atleast to an extent. She is worried if the house will get clumsy and look bad to the guests. So she indulges herself in keeping things clean, decorating the home and basically tries to keep everything in order, even before it gets dirty and clumsy.

A Man just lives. He starts using things, takes the remote from the table and puts it in the couch, keeps the coffee mug without the coaster on the table, eats as he roams around the house and spilling stuff, runs cables from one point to another to setup wireless connection, and much more. After doing all that, he starts worrying that the house is now in disorder and it needs to be cleaned and sorted out.

This is when the Woman of the house, hands over the Vacuum cleaner to the Man.

CASE 4: LOOKS

Woman are worried about how they look, even before they look or any one else looks at them. I have one word for you – Make up. Ok, that was 2 words, but the point is, the worry about the look starts from the beginning.

Man walks to the closet and fetches the nearest available clothing to wear for the day. It will be too much effort to reach for the good shirt in the corner of the closet. He may or may not comb standing in front of the mirror, but he is hardly worried, how the clothes look on him.

A Colleague walks by the Man and says “Hmm… Interesting shirt for the pants!”.

That’s it, the Man is completely worried now. Not because the shirt makes him look like a clown, but because it is usually difficult to pass a witty reply for such comments.

CASE 5: BLOGGING

A Woman thinks a 1000 times before she blogs about a topic. What if people think I am stupid? What if people don’t like it? What if I get flamed?

A Man publishes the post. He then worries about a 1000 things, but then he just updates the post with those 1000 things as tags for the post “I-may-be-stupid”, “People-may-not-like-it”, “Inflammable”.

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

21 thoughts on “Worries

  1. Gosh, now I’m worried about what to say in my comment. I was getting worried right since when I started reading the post. What will you think? What if I offend someone?

    g

  2. That was just too good. It was almost as if you sat in my living room and watched us live our life. Only one difference though, my husband runs cables and doesn’t really worry that the house is not clean.

  3. Without worrying, I must say that you are testing the anger of the females who read this blog! πŸ˜›
    Don’t fish in troubled waters my friend!! πŸ˜€
    Loved the post!

  4. πŸ™‚

    Now, each of the cases applies. And case 5,is an important case in point !

    But, the worries, they stay permanently. Case or no case !

    Man or woman ! About each other !

    πŸ™‚

    Wonderful post

  5. You got it right pal.That is exactly how he is wired and how she is wired. But sometimes I worry that living with a man might have the pernicious side effect of me catching his symptoms too although there is NEVER the slightest worry about the man ever learning her habits.His Y gene makes him totally immune to such things. And now I better go and clean up the mess that he has made of the house over the weekend and start worrying about the menu for the 16th feb.Of course he is getting no food for a week if he forgets to send flowers on the 14th.!!!

  6. Vishesh unni raghunathan
    Boy, I think you should shorten your name for the blog world πŸ™‚

    lol
    Yes, Men are not worried to lol, but Women are worried because they are afraid they might end up doing ROFL.

    Mandar – Thank you πŸ™‚

    Maxdavinci
    I can pretty much see how your weekend went by!
    Don’t worry, it is not just the weekends πŸ™‚

    Gauri
    Gosh, now I’m worried about what to say in my comment.
    he he , ha ha , hu hu! Ok,Now I am worried why I wrote that reply, so I will just say LOL πŸ™‚

    Rekha
    That was just too good.
    I was worried after I wrote, if people would call it three good.

    It was almost as if you sat in my living room and watched us live our life.
    Ok, I thought that was my living room I was sitting in. I need to check the door number.

    Only one difference though, my husband runs cables and doesn’t really worry that the house is not clean.
    I can see how he likes to land on the couch, by tripping on the cables πŸ™‚

    Amreekandesi
    Interesting psychological analysis happening on this blog! Keep it coming!
    Exactly, I am the psycho who keeps doing these logical analysis.

  7. Solilo
    Now that I have worried enough on what to comment let me safely say β€˜LOL’.
    Welcome here Solilo and Thanks for the comment. Don’t worry about how loud you can get that LOL.

    Raji – Thank you πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity
    That was funny. The cooking part is so true.
    Thank you, exactly, the cooking part is so true, because you don’t end up doing the cooking at
    all. It is a paradox.

    Amit
    Without worrying, I must say that you are testing the anger of the females who read this
    blog!

    Nah! I think they have attained Zen state with regards to my blog. They know that I will keep
    posting such things.

    Don’t fish in troubled waters my friend!!
    er… I don’t eat fish, so I won’t be on whatever water for that. Even If I need fish, I will get it from the nearest grocery store.

    Loved the post!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    Chiranji – Thank you Chiranjib and Thanks for the awards, I feel honored, all my worries
    are gone. I am going to write a post titled Don’t worry, very soon.

    Reema
    LOL..very good post πŸ™‚ The clean house part is so true.
    Thank you πŸ™‚

  8. A-kay
    LOL πŸ™‚ I am thinking about what I should comment πŸ˜›
    I thought I was thinking what to reply, but I ended up replying πŸ™‚ Welcome back after a long time.

    Kavi
    Now, each of the cases applies. And case 5,is an important case in point ! But, the worries,
    they stay permanently. Case or no case !

    This was like a Crazy mohan dialogue. LOL! You could have said, Case or Nut Case πŸ™‚ Thank you πŸ™‚

    Datsme
    Dude this is one the FUNNIEST posts i have read in a looong looooooong time πŸ™‚
    Thank you πŸ™‚ I am eager to know what other funniest posts you read in a loooooong time πŸ™‚

    Oorja – Thank you πŸ™‚

    Usha
    You got it right pal.
    I hope nothing was left out πŸ™‚

    That is exactly how he is wired and how she is wired.
    You mean Woired?

    His Y gene makes him totally immune to such things.
    Exactly, the secret is in the Jeans. Y genes illa, Levis jeans πŸ™‚

    And now I better go and clean up the mess that he has made of the house over the weekend
    Wait, you won’t make him do that? You should ask him to read this post and show him the handing
    over of Vacuum cleaner part.

    start worrying about the menu for the 16th feb.
    Time for sending the man to grocery πŸ™‚

    Of course he is getting no food for a week if he forgets to send flowers on the 14th.!!!
    Thanks for reminding, I can’t imagine myself eating outside and from vending machine for 1 week.

  9. You got me all going till No 5, I must say. All the while I was thinking how I’m going to be sending this link to hubby dear to let him know that in spite of his genius streak he’s still a stereotype male… but of course I decided against it considering how he’s going to come up the “I’m-wired-that-way-honey” as his next excuse… Oh my worries!

    And then you go ahead and talk about blogging… laundry fine, blogging I’m not sure… It kind of seemed like you just tried to fit in a fifth point. Oh well… it’s your blog, so go right ahead!

Leave a Reply

