Posted in Anecdotes, Food

Rasam-a-Touille

“Why do we have to eat in a Random Restaurant everyday?” asked my friend S.

“Yes, I agree. Why don’t we cook?” I said, as I set out a stream of hysterical laughter around my room mates.

When you come out to live on your own and when there is no Hostel mess to feed you everyday as you had in College, it is hard to believe that you will be able to cook. It is actually hard to even consider cooking, never mind being able to. So the natural reaction among the gang for cooking was a simple no. Other than me and S there was no one in the crowd, who were excited about the idea of cooking.

We made a few random jokes about the new Woman training staff and made abusive remarks on the male training staff and went back to sleep.

“Anyone can cook Anyway!” said my Grandmother.

“Grandma … What are you doing here?” I tried to whisper hoping not to wake up the roomies.

Grandma: “You were talking about cooking and I thought I might help you”

Me: “But how will you? Hey wait … How do you speak English? I thought you didn’t know English!”

Grandma: “Well this is your dream and I am the figment of your imagination. So that’s how I know English. But anyway, tomorrow being a weekend why don’t you try and make Rasam and Rice. It is very simple!”

I heard Grandma talk some weird Rasam Recipe – Mix a Chameleon Juice in a Glass jar and then slice a pumpkin peel into 10 exact pieces, then cut a cactus into exactly two halves and put them all in a container. After that you pee on it.

“What! Pee on it???” That’s when I woke up and realized it was 7:30 AM and I really had to pee. We lazed around the morning reading the paper and munching some bread with Amul butter and Kissan fruit jam for breakfast. I hit the conversation with S.

Me: “So what do you think about cooking? Do you think we can really do it?”

S: “Yes definitely, I think Anyone can cook Anyway he/she wants”

It was the same words from Grandma from last night’s dream. Am I halucinating? Is the bread gone bad? I pinched myself and it pained. It wasn’t a dream.

Me: “So what are you waiting for then, let’s cook something for lunch. What do you think of Rasam and Rice?”

We set out to buy a single burner portable gas stove. It was something we could quickly buy to experiment what we were going to do. The rest of the gang spent the morning completely disinterested having no idea of what we were doing. It was like we were invisible to them. Even AS, who was food lover, wasn’t caring even a little bit about what was going on. AS can taste food very well and can be a harsh critic of food. In one bite he can quickly write off the restaurant, and so we were daring to give our food to him for feedback.

It was risky. Rasam and Rice was a very ordinary dish. He can easily reject it. But we wanted to try our best.

S: “So where shall we start first!”

Me: “We need chameleon juice”

S: “What?”

Me: “Sorry, I think I need to pee, I feel nervous about doing this. Let me relieve myself of some tension and come back in a few min”

After few minutes we were off to chop the Tomatoes, Onions and using a vessel we mixed tamarind paste, Rasam powder and added Tomatoes to it. We realized Onion is not an ingredient of Rasam and had to keep it aside, perhaps use it as a side dish. The ready made Rasam powder that we had bought smelled very good so we kept stirring the contents for a while and then let it boil. We then added Cilantro as the final touch and let it simmer for a bit and took it off the stove finally.

Making Rice is a piece of Rice Cake. Yet we managed to over cook it a little bit and made it softer. Overall, the meal wasn’t anything brilliant. Rice and Rasam was ready. We put a small serving in a plate and gave it to AS for his review. Our limbs were trembling out of fear. This time S had to pee, we waited for him.

Here came the moment. AS took the plate from us and grabbed a nice big amounts of Rasam Rice in his right hand. He then put it in his mouth with a slurping noise and sat there stunned. The camera zoomed into his face and went through his eyes into a flash back, in which Young Boy AS was having a plate full of Rasam Rice and Chips in his home.

Young Boy AS said “I love Mom’s Rasam Rice!”

The Camera came back to the Young Man AS who said “Super da! Sign me up, I am joining the Cooking club”.

We smelled our victory in the form of a great Rasam. We won, we started cooking our own food and we never turned back. We loved the food, whatever we cooked. It was a very satisfying meal everytime.

Grandma appeared in my dream again “See I told you, Anyone can cook Anyway”

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

16 thoughts on “Rasam-a-Touille

  1. Anyone can cook anyway but what matters is not everyone can cook good food.
    And there are some who don’t even know how to boil an egg. Trust me..i know such people.

  2. I totally relate to that – how and when I started cooking follows a very similar path as yours. Living away from home without a hostel mess to provide you, albeit inedible, food, forces you to do things that you never thought you will, let alone enjoy πŸ™‚ Hmm… brought back memories.

  3. I have been trying to cook for some time. And rasam never came to my mind! This is why men should blog on cooking, they come up with simple and practical ideas for cooking! How talented we are in simplifying the complex world created by women πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    Destination Infinity

  4. Reema
    Anyone can cook anyway but what matters is not everyone can cook good food.
    You are right, Anyone can cook anyway but No one can cook in that one way, the good way.

    And there are some who don’t even know how to boil an egg.
    I thought the egg boiled by itself in boiling water πŸ™‚

    btw witty title
    Thank you πŸ™‚ The Screenplay is also stolen from Rat-a-touille, though the anecdote did happen.

    Kavi
    I remember a series on Star Plus..’If Yan can cook, so can you’, it used to say ! And then, my
    hopes were dashed !

    They should have said, if Yan can cook, your hopes are dashed πŸ™‚

    A-Kay
    I totally relate to that – how and when I started cooking follows a very similar path as
    yours.

    Yes, it involves going through that same main road πŸ™‚

    Living away from home without a hostel mess to provide you, albeit inedible
    It was still food and so we still ate it even though we keep complaining.

    Hmm… brought back memories.
    Am glad, you enjoyed πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity
    I have been trying to cook for some time.
    You should just cook πŸ™‚ It is easy, making it tasty is hard.

    And rasam never came to my mind! This is why men should blog on cooking
    This is how a men will blog on cooking (except the chefs):

    Ten steps to make a tasty pizza:
    1. Open Firefox.
    2. Go to http://www.pizzahut.com
    3. Order 1 Veggie lovers.
    4. Choose toppings.
    5. Checkout and wait.
    6 – 10. Steps 6 to 10 were deprecated, and were there only during Call the Pizza Hut days.

    How talented we are in simplifying the complex world created by women πŸ™‚
    I hear ya! πŸ™‚ It is very simple to simplify it, just don’t complicate it πŸ™‚

  5. Nice read. I still remember our first day of group cooking. 90% of us skeptical but when we tasted it was better than restaurant food and as good as how mom-food used to taste.

  6. What a coincidence?! A wanted to watch Ratatouille just this evening!!
    Any one can cook but doesn’t mean that anyone should as Remy says πŸ˜‰
    or may Gusteau inspired you fearless people!
    Killed anyone with this thumb? πŸ˜€
    Good post πŸ™‚

  7. Hehehe. Don’t you agree you end up taking more interest in cooking when you’re thrown in that student/univ environment? With all those experiments to whip up something good with whatever is in the freezer? The flip side is, the habit sticks even after you have a family to feed 😐

    Fun read…are you sure the end result was really Rasam? πŸ™‚

    -g

  8. Ashwin
    90% of us skeptical but when we tasted it was better than restaurant food and as good as how
    mom-food used to taste.

    The key is how much hungry you are. When we are in the kitchen for long, the smell of the food
    adds to the hunger. But if you are there too long, it might kill your hunger too.

    Chiranjib
    I’ll try cooking in the near future…
    You have to be very specific. How near? 1 cm or 1mm.

    Vishesh
    I can cook
    I can cook too, but I don’t know if I can always cook good.

    Nikhil
    Cooking woes is something I totally relate to! πŸ˜€
    Is it because, you stay close to the fridge or dining table?

    By the way, I’m the world’s best chef… πŸ˜€
    Which world? Mars or Uranus?

  9. Apar
    What a coincidence?! A wanted to watch Ratatouille just this evening!!
    I watched it sometime last year and wrote the post immediately, Only posted it now.

    Any one can cook but doesn’t mean that anyone should as Remy says
    Exactly, You have to hold that spatula in your hand and feel it. Can I cook today?

    or may Gusteau inspired you fearless people!
    Fearless we are, they are edible food anyways. Taste … hmmm ….!

    Gauri
    Don’t you agree you end up taking more interest in cooking when you’re thrown in that
    student/univ environment?

    Yeah, Too many variables point to cooking. There is just no way out, it is a trap.

    With all those experiments to whip up something good with whatever is in the freezer?
    You see that’s the technique. You will have completely incompatible items, but you will end up creating something with it. If nothing works as a side dish, there is always Chips and Pickle. Done!

    The flip side is
    I know, the flip side is you have to flip that dosa.

    the habit sticks even after you have a family to feed 😐
    oh, that flip side! Tell me about it!

    …are you sure the end result was really Rasam? πŸ™‚
    Yes, I am pretty sure. We separated the onions out, otherwise it might have been sambar.

    Amit
    Its really tough to prepare good food.
    Sometimes if you are in the zone, you can easily prepare good food. The key is to shed the fear
    and pressure that your food needs to be good. I mean you are not Wolfgang puck anyway!

    Sometimes people never get it.
    Sure I get it. Whenever my Wife cooks, I get that food right to me and I eat it.

Leave a Reply

