Posted in General

You There?

Vishesh, the Swami Smileyananda has tagged me to do a Tag of his own called Smiley Tag. The objective is to spread the smile and I took it literally by doing a post based on Smileys. I actually had done this post sometime back and kept it in draft for a long time. I waited for the right moment, but completely forgot about this post until now. I think It was meant to be posted for Vishesh’s Tag.

When people Instant Message you at work with a “yt” which means “You There?”, the way someone answers to that question can tell a lot about the situation. Let’s see what they are:

HAPPY STATE


“yt”

“Yes, what’s up! :)”

– A descriptive answer followed by a smiley. This respondent had a good tasty lunch and probably got a pat in the back from the boss or got a raise or going out for a fun party in the evening. He is just happy about something and he is much obliged to answer your questions.

I CAN ANSWER YOU


“yt”

“Yes, What’s up!”

– The person is not really in a good mood, but can take a few questions from the requester. This person is vulnerable to spiral down to Case 3 if not handled properly.

BUSY NOW, THIS BETTER BE SERIOUS


“yt”

“Yes!”

– For “yt” all I can say is I can acknowledge my presence. If you are planning on asking any questions for help, it better be serious. Don’t say “I need to borrow a post it, can I come to your desk”, because these questions can spiral him down to Case 4.

CRISIS, NO MORE QUESTIONS


“yt”

“s”

– Just one letter abbreviation of Yes. That’s it – s. The person is busy doing a lot of other things. It is really not advisable to ask anymore questions to the person unless you are the boss or boss’s boss and so on. Simply acknowledge his presence and move away, other wise you will push the person to Case 5.

BUSY WORKING MY A** OFF


“yt”

– The person doesn’t respond. He/She simply turns on the busy indicator on the Instant message client indirecly indicating to scram and not to bother. Do not dare to walk to this person’s cube, wait for the person to get back to atleast Case 3.

A Comic with all of the above emotions of “You there!”

Of course this applies only at work and not for Gtalk and Yahoo IM clients 🙂

If you like to spread the Smile, go ahead and take this as a Tag and do your own post that will make people Smile 🙂

Pictures from: http://www.wikimedia.org

Author:

I am a Software Engineer by profession. My interests are in Computers, Science, Technology, Movies, Music, Photography and Writing. I love to do a lot of things, but am still searching for the ultimate thing that I can love to do. You will find here all the volcanic outbursts of my creative side as I explore the world through my perspective. Well, mainly fun, what's world without any fun!

21 thoughts on “You There?

  1. Busy working A off is interesting. I plan to frame that up and put it outside my workstation. It could be good for warding the evil eye as well !!!

    🙂

    Super ! Enjoyed this post !

  2. Hi veeran loved your post. I have never been an admirer of being tagged. I mean its almost like writing stuffs just for the sake of it. But you some how manage to bring out funny(read smart) posts on even such topics.

    oh and three 🙂 🙂 🙂 to you for this post!

  3. Like Vishesh’s title first of all!! good one! Wonder where you come up with such things and such posts!! Sure did bring a smile on my face. Needed that. Thanks!

  4. Well expressions speak louder den words for sure..so wat if the expressions are not exactly on ur face. Smilies are wat kept me from becoming a Gtalk addict and i stayed with Yahoo and Skype…
    Funny post (as always) 🙂

  5. I have no clue how to create these smileys although I am a great fan of emoticons on Yahoo. The Gchat ones seem a bit difficult to comprehend. I love those expressions you have come up with particularly the DND one. hehehe

Leave a Reply

