Randomize(Things) * 25

Amrutha has tagged me to write 25 Random things about me.

What is Random? Is it something that is not in particular, that doesn’t belong to a category, something that you just pick with no reason associated with it?

But here is a truth, That particular thing is a Random thing only until you pick it. But the moment you pick it, you have it in your hand and you know what it is and you know how to categorize it. A Random thing that you picked is not Random anymore. It is sort of like Quantum Physics.

The Random thing that you are yet to pick can be anything from Freedom to Boredom, but the moment you pick it, you will be able to see that it is your Kingdom. You have a specific thing in hand now, not a Random thing.

Anyways, Here are 25 Random things from my life which became specific after I picked.

1. As a Kid, I once tried to look under the Godrej Bero (Armoire) and got my head stuck there.

2. Once, when my uncle was sitting in the living room, he pulled my head out, from under the Godrej Bero. Somehow I can relate this with point 1.

3. I used to be afraid of Rats, that my Grandma used that fear of mine to feed me (Not with Rats, but Just Food, Not Rat Food, but Human Food)

4. In those days, a candy used to cost 5 Paise or 10 Paise. That became my salary if I help out on a chore at home.

5. The First Rajinikanth Movie that I ever saw and liked was “Murattu Kaalai”.

6. The First Kamal Hassan Movie that I really liked was “Vikram”.

7. I used to make cricket ball out of a small stone and wrapping Paper on top of it, very tightly.

8. I used to play cricket on the terrace of our house with my homemade Paper ball. The ball was very durable until you hit that out of the terrace into the ditch in the road.

9. I once went into a dreamless deep sleep state when I was alone in the house. Calling bell, Violent shouts and Knocks on the door didn’t wake me up. People had to break in and wake me up. As a prize for doing this, I was given coffee.

10. I used to be among the shortest in school, but somehow I became relatively taller in College.

11. The first Six I hit was in my 6th Std, No one could believe I was capable of hitting Six, including me.

12. I learnt to dance from my Younger brother, who was a Natural dancer.

13. I wanted a Younger Sister who I was going to name as Kavitha. I consider all the Kavitha’s that I come across in my life as my Younger sister, except the older ones.

14. I was a Car Crazy Kid. I used to have a Sack full of Toys that were variety of cars.

15. I have the fear of Unknown. I am beating this fear by trying to know as much as I can.

16. When I used to live alone as a Bachelor, the moment there is a Power cut at night I used to come out of the house and sit in the balcony, unless I am in deep sleep.

17. I learnt the Guitar for 3 months and then quit. I still have the wish to learn to play someday.

18. I once won an impromptu competition to sit still for 1hour in school during Yoga Class. I have no idea how I did that, because I am unable to do that now!

19. My First Crush was when I was in 12th std, over a 11th std girl.

20. My Second crush was when I crushed a lemon with my bare hands for making Lemon Rice as a Bachelor.

21. My First car was a Fiat Palio which I sold before coming to US.

22. My First cell phone was an Ericsson world phone, which I lost in an Autorickshaw in Bangalore.

23. My First jeans was a local branded jeans named – Hara.

24. This blog is my second innings.

25. I found my Humor sense in this blog.

If I equate 1 Random thing to 1 year of my age, I am still left out with 5 years. Instead of writing 5 more things, I will just tag 5 people whose blog I read, but I don’t have them in my blogroll yet, because I am terribly lazy!

They are – Gauri, Chutneycase, Anu Ramakrishnan, Inbavalli, Kavi.


45 responses to “Randomize(Things) * 25”

  1. “I found my Humor sense in this blog.”

    And found it how!

    I too used to play on the terrace using a paper ball. That was the only place i ever hit a six. The boundary anywhere else was ususally outside my range!

  2. Good post!

    Even I used to buy candies for 5 paisa but you can’t get anything for less than 50p/Re1 these days.

    Speaking of paper ball cricket, we used to play in our classroom before the class starts and during recess. God help the guy eating inside the room while we’re playing. 🙂

    And I’ve lost count of my “crushes”. If I see a cutie in a movie, I get crushed, if I see a make-heads-turn chick on the road, I get crushed. I don’t want to embarrass myself by telling on who I’ve had crushes. 😛

    • Even I used to buy candies for 5 paisa but you can’t get anything for less than 50p/Re1 these days
      Well, atleast railway station weighing machines still cost 1 Re., even though they don’t always work!

      God help the guy eating inside the room while we’re playing
      That reminded me of the Chalk Piece war we used to play.

      And I’ve lost count of my “crushes”.
      Me too, I mean I have had to have Lemon Rice so many times in my Bachelor life.

  3. thanks for sharing the now-non-random RANDOM things about you. 🙂

    @1 – how did u get there..?

    but i can be empathatic on that. i got stuck in a window grill once when i was mmm maybe 3 or 4. maybe saw some jailbreak movie and got inspired. 😉

    • how did u get there..?
      Curiosity. Just wanted to see what’s under.

      maybe saw some jailbreak movie and got inspired.
      He he … I used to watch those old movies where the Hero escapes from Jail by bending the grill. Oh I see, that’s what you meant 🙂

  4. I know I can stick my foot in places (my mouth, the cycle wheel when appa was riding it & me sitting behind)….but wonder how u can get your head stuck under a godrej armoire?!? that small a head or a huge space underneath?! hmm!!! 🙂
    Good post as usual! You definitely do have a really nice sense of humour.

    • wonder how u can get your head stuck under a godrej armoire
      Well, it used to stand on a Stone support for its legs, so there was space to get in.

      You definitely do have a really nice sense of humour
      Thank you! All of it belongs to God!

  5. Nice! We found your humor in this blog too 😀

    #17 – Pick it up again, now’s a good time as any other. Just do it, don’t think.

    And thanks for the “yet” in the last line 😉
    I decided I’ll do this tag as soon 25 people tag me. 23 more to go 😐

    -g

    • We found your humor in this blog too
      Thank you, no Really Thank you. Otherwise it would have been humiliating, I crack a joke and no one laughs!

      Pick it up again, now’s a good time as any other
      Someday!

      I decided I’ll do this tag as soon 25 people tag me. 23 more to go
      Smart move 🙂

  6. Godrej bureau keezhe thalai maatikicha? At what age ba? How did you manage to get it caught there. I ‘d think that requires extra ordinary genius!
    Nalla velai thunaiviyar peru kavitha illaye? apram ore anti-climax daan.

    • How did you manage to get it caught there
      Explained it in Apar’s comment 🙂

      Nalla velai thunaiviyar peru kavitha illaye? apram ore anti-climax daan
      Illa, Ponnu pakkurappo 8 conditionla oru condition idha pottuten 🙂 he he … kidding!

  7. As a prize for going into dreamless state of stupor, you got a coffee? I gave my daughter a whacking for the same 😉
    And which was your third crush?
    And I was just wondering what would have happened had your uncle not been present on that day!

    • you got a coffee?
      Yes, to wake me up 🙂

      my daughter a whacking for the same
      That would wake up too 🙂

      And which was your third crush?
      My third crush was when I shook hands with my Boss, I nearly crushed his hands 🙂

      And I was just wondering what would have happened had your uncle not been present on that day!
      I would be having a huge Godrej bero on top of my head today! 🙂

  8. Ha 🙂 this was funny 🙂

    @My First Crush was when I was in 12th std, over a 11th std girl. – Me too and her sister 😉

    Great reading the random(25);

    • My First Crush was when I was in 12th std, over a 11th std girl. – Me too and her sister
      Good, in my next reincarnation I will keep this in mind. Always Have crush on atleast 2 girls so that way atleast one of it will work out!

      Great reading the random(25)
      Thank you(lot) 🙂

  9. Hi Dinesh,

    I used to buy “Kalkona” and “Kammarkat” for 5 paise from Seetha kadai!! I still see Kammarkat being sold, but in supermarkets!!! Price, I guess, is around 50 paise per piece..

    Me too.. w.r.to point 10. Short till my school days.. grew taller in college.. but not relatively taller, though.. being short you get bullied and “kattai” gets attached as a prefix to your name.. very irritating.. I dread those days when everybody calls you “kattai”.

  10. It is a good idea to make a ball by using a stone and wrapping papers around it. It is strange to think why we didn’t get this idea! We have played almost every game that we knew back then. Even Golf with actual rules, but using the local sticks and tennis ball, that was fun!!

    Destination Infinity

Leave a comment